How to get rid of the annoying 'UPDATE ME' warnings on iWork?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iRock1, Oct 5, 2016.

  1. iRock1 macrumors 6502a

    iRock1

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #1
    I'm on Yosemite, don't have intentions of upgrading.

    Every time I open up Numbers or Pages, I see a message telling me that a new update is available and that I really should upgrade to Sierra. Is there a way of disabling such ANNOYING behavior?

    Thanks.
     
  2. sracer macrumors 603

    sracer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Location:
    Land of Bongos and Beatniks
    #2
    Thanks for asking, I'm pretty annoyed by that behavior too.
     
  3. iRock1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iRock1

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
  4. sracer macrumors 603

    sracer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Location:
    Land of Bongos and Beatniks
    #4
    I surrendered... and installed macOS Sierra. :confused:
     
  5. iRock1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iRock1

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #5
    Damn. Not sure I want to go there, specially with a slow and old machine that doesn't work that well with Yosemite.
     
  6. hanser macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    #6
    According to most reports I read, Sierra works better with old machines than Yosemite.
     
  7. iRock1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iRock1

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #7
    Do you have any source?

    For me it's a matter of logic. An OS that is two generations newer can't run well on an old machine that already suffers from lag and other issues.
     
  8. hanser macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    #8
    Just Look in the Sierra Forum, there is a Thread about How it Runs on Older machines.
     
  9. iRock1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iRock1

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #9
    People saying "runs great". Reliable reports...

    Last time I trusted Apple I ended up installing Yosemite and then El Capitan on a 2008 MacBook. Big mistakes.l
     
  10. iRock1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iRock1

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #10
    A little bump on this.

    Also, could somebody please explain to me, how the heck is it possible that Pages still displays a pop-up every time I open it up, notifying me that a new version is available but I need to update OS X first? How the hell am I supposed to upgrade to Sierra if my MacBook isn't even supported!!!
     
  11. chscag macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #11
    Yeah, I've read more than several complaints about that. It seems the latest update to Pages requires the installation of Sierra before you can download it. If you have an older MacBook and are happy with Yosemite, upgrading to Sierra might not be a good idea especially if your MacBook is not supported.
     
  12. iRock1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iRock1

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #12
    It's on El Capitan. And I see pop-ups almost every time I open Pages. The stupid thing is that I have the latest compatible version installed, so I don't understand what the heck I'm supposed to install.
     
  13. mic j macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #13
    Count me in on this one. My MBP's OS can't be updated to Sierra and Pages wants me to update to it's latest version. Cook will do anything to annoy us to the point of dropping $3K into their coffers.

    And for what it's worth: My old 2009 17"MBP with SSD and internal HDD runs great on El Capitan. I haven't seen anything yet in Sierra that makes me want to update, even if I could. Apple Pay, Siri...don't need it.
     
  14. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #14
    This is a bug. Let Apple know here http://www.apple.com/feedback/pages.html and, yes, feedback does work but you don't get a personal reply.
     
  15. Phil in ocala macrumors 6502

    Phil in ocala

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    #15
    Hey...I am still dealing with my iPhone 5C with latest OS that demands my password for iTunes store each and every time I want to use the phone.
     

Share This Page