How to get video off my camcorder to my 13" MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by chelseasian, Sep 8, 2009.

  1. chelseasian macrumors regular

    chelseasian

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    New York, NY (Chelsea)
    #1
    Hi!

    I am in a bit of a spot. I have just purchased a new 13" MBP and I have some video that I need to transfer off my camcorder (Canon Optura 20) which has both a FW400 and a USB port.

    I've tried connecting via USB to my MBP and running iMovie, but it is not recognizing it. As my MPB does not have a FW400 port, how would I get the video transferred?

    I appreciate any suggestions.

    Thank you.
    :apple:
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    When you connect the camera does it show up on the desktop as a drive? If so, then just make a folder, and drag all the video files into, and you can later import them into iMovie. Also, does the camera show up in iPhoto?
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    Have you tried a FW800-to-FW400 adapter or cable?

    Also if your camcorder charged and turned on when you're connecting it to your computer?
     
  4. electroshock macrumors 6502a

    electroshock

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #4
    You can get a FW400-to-800 cable, and hook it up that way. One of these should do the trick:

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/firewire/add-ons-and-hubs/cables

    Assuming your camcorder comes with a 4-pin FW400 port on it, you'd probably want to get this cable: 9-pin FW800 on one end and a 4-pin FW400 on the other end. I.e. one of the first four links on that website, depending on the length you need. Starts at $10.
     
  5. getz76 macrumors 6502a

    getz76

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Hell, AL
    #5
    With that camcorder, the USB is only v1.1 and for transfering stills only. You will need to use the FireWire for video transfers, and you will need to use a "Log and transfer" feature to move the videos over.
     

Share This Page