How to make Saft work with the new Safari build in 10.5.2

Discussion in 'macOS' started by richard.mac, Feb 14, 2008.

  1. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #1
    the new Safari build included with 10.5.2 seems to have broken Saft 10.0.4. heres a fix:

    1. open the Applications folder and right/control click on Saft and choose "Show Package Contents"
    2. open Contents then Resources
    3. right/control click on Saft.bundle
    4. open Contents
    5. open Info.plist with either Property List Editor or TextEdit. if you have Developer Tools installed it will open with Property List Editor. if not drag it onto the TextEdit icon in the Finder or the Dock.
    6. for Property List Editor
    - open Root then SaftSupportedSafariBuild
    - change the the "1" value to read "5523.15"
    - save it

    for TextEdit
    - change the second string in the array the read like this

    <string>5523.15</string>

    - save it

    7. open Safari and Saft should be loaded.
     
  2. cardsdoc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    Shaker Hts, OH
    #2
    The latest version of SAFT is 10.5.2 compatible. Just re-download.
     
  3. richard.mac thread starter macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #3
    why redownload when i can just edit a few numbers? the developer probably just did this with the new update anyway.
     
  4. cardsdoc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    Shaker Hts, OH
    #4
    Obviously you can do whatever works best for you. My post was intended for those (most people I would think) who would prefer to download the latest version rather than edit plist files. You also never know if code has been changed.
     
  5. rrijkers macrumors 6502

    rrijkers

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5
    Thanks a lot, this fixed the anoying popup for me, I can use saft happy again! :)
     
  6. Vinnie_vw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #6
    I can confirm that this also works with the new Safari / Webkit (3.1) builds. You just have to replace the value with "5525.9" (check the about-box to confirm).
     
  7. wordy macrumors regular

    wordy

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto
    #7
    Saft users, how do I get the enter/Ctrl-Enter to activate the Next/Previous links in say, Google.

    From the "Usage" page:
    http://haoli.dnsalias.com/Saft/Usage/index.html

    Enter/Ctrl-Enter to Go to Next/Previous Links (Like in Google)
    Due to user requests, Saft add this OmniWeb feature to Safari. You can use Enter key instead of clicking on "next" links as in pages of search results from Google. Ctrl-enter for "previous" link. Saft does so by searching for links with these two keywords (and their variants in German, French and Japanese).
     

Share This Page