How to move unlimited AT&T data to new 9.7 iPad Pro?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by RMSko, Mar 22, 2016.

  1. RMSko macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #1
    I currently have an iPad Air with unlimited AT&T data and plan on getting the new 9.7 iPad Pro. In the past I was able to roll my unlimited plan into a new iPad , but I don't recall how I did it. I assume I'll be able to do the same with the new Pro, but does anyone know the steps I'll need to take?
     
  2. Pipper99 macrumors 68000

    Pipper99

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #2
    Go to this site to update your IMEI and ICCID to your new device, and the iPad Pro will then be using your unlimited data plan. :)

    https://dcp2.att.com/OEPNDClient/pa...=0.327699904506918&version=0.6240575782682475
     
  3. garyleecn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    #3
    actually all need is, pop the sim to new device

    i've been switching my att UDP among my 3 iPads and a mobile hotspot




    or, you can just log in your account on new device with apple sim
     
  4. lulla01 macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #4

    New IPP has embedded sim meaning no sim swapping which sucks for me because i use the unite pro and sometimes the ipad.
     
  5. garyleecn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    #5
    i think you misread the info.
    the iPad pro comes with an embedded sim, but it still have a regular sim card slot. which means you can still use a regular att sim to swap in between devices.

    i took some screenshots from yesterday's hands on videos, there still seem to be a tiny whole (sim ejection hole) on where the sim card slot is, and on apple's website, the sim card slot is also still there

    http://s16.postimg.org/9hvp5496t/Screen_Shot_2016_03_22_at_3_25_58_PM.png
    http://s14.postimg.org/tpgj6phip/Screen_Shot_2016_03_22_at_3_26_04_PM.png
    http://s12.postimg.org/wlapfzval/Screen_Shot_2016_03_22_at_3_26_09_PM.png

    last but not least,
    in apple's iPad sim FAQ, it says
    "The 9.7-inch iPad Pro, 12.9-inch iPad Pro, iPad Air 2, iPad mini 4, and iPad mini 3 models with Wi-Fi + Cellular can use either the Apple SIM card or a carrier-supported nano-SIM card. The 9.7-inch iPad Pro includes an embedded Apple SIM card. iPad Air, iPad mini 2, and iPad mini models with Wi-Fi + Cellular use the nano-SIM card. All other iPad models use a micro-SIM card. Micro-SIM cards cannot be used in devices that use the Apple SIM or another nano-SIM card"

    it can use apple sim (which is embedded) OR carrier supported nano-SIM.


    so, don't worry
     
  6. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #6
    There is no need to swap sims or enter IMEI info anywhere. Just log into your new iPad Pro with your AT&T login ID and password, and the transfer is automatic.

    Guys, this is the 21st century you know.
     
  7. Channan macrumors 68030

    Channan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #7
    Step 1. Take SIM out of old iPad.

    Step 2. Put SIM in new iPad.
     
  8. garyleecn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    #8
    there is actually. if you want to use it on your mobile hotspot like a unite, then you will avoid apple sim. apple sim only works on apple devices.
     
  9. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #9
    That's ok. I'm not interested in violating my terms of service. Thanks for playing though.
     
  10. garyleecn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    #10
    not necessarily violating TOS though. it doesn't have to be a mobile hotspot, it could also be an android tablet.

    just saying if you ever want to use it on another non-apple device, avoid apple sim, or you will need to go to ATT and get a new sim
     
  11. miamialley macrumors 68030

    miamialley

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11
    How much data do you use in a month?
     

Share This Page