How to persuade my Dad to let me buy a MacBook Pro with my own money?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MJNBGA, Mar 26, 2011.

1. MJNBGA macrumors regular

Hi,

I am new to this message board. :) I need a new laptop for the new school that I will be going in to. I really want to buy a 13 " MacBook Pro, but my Dad has a crappy refurbished Windows laptop he wants to give me. I want to buy a MacBook Pro with my own money. I've asked him once before about what he thought about my idea and he said no. How can I persuade him to let me buy one? It's not like it is his own money he will be spending. I've talked with him about the pro's and con's and all of that stuff, and he won't budge. :mad: Help! Any tips?

Thanks in advance,
    MJNBGA

2. MJNBGA thread starter macrumors regular

You really think so? Will I be doomed with Windows misery for the rest of my life? :(

3. mulo macrumors 68020

mulo

I believe he was being sarcastic.
    why do you need your dads approval to buy something? - oh yeah you don't. :)

4. orfeas0 macrumors 6502a

did you work and make that money or is it the money your dad gives you and you gathered it for some time?
    the thing is, you don't really have your own money until you live alone and pay your own rent. in the other hand he should let you choose your pc i mean especially if you need it for your school.

5. stridemat Moderator

stridemat

Staff Member

Depending on your age you still need his permission. His house, his rules.

6. Apple OC macrumors 68040

Apple OC

hunger strike maybe? ... seriously though try to find a good deal on a refurb (tell him you are smart shopping) and also maybe take him to the Apple Store.

Tell him you want this laptop to last you 5 years and the MBP is best suited for longevity.

and finally If he insists you use the PC ... load it up with lots of viruses.

good luck

7. MJNBGA, Mar 26, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 26, 2011

MJNBGA thread starter macrumors regular