Resolved how to prevent yosemite from creating fusion drive on new rMBP mid 2014

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by adarkenigma, Oct 23, 2014.

  1. adarkenigma, Oct 23, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2014

    adarkenigma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    #1
    I just got new rMBP and it came with mavericks. first thing I did was run diagnostic test no problems found so next I erased entire hd. (I been using yosemite since early beta and i am pretty use to it now, so i figured i would install it like i did on old MBP)

    I wanted to create Recover HD but will wait till Recovery Partition Creator updates foe yosemite.

    after it booted and I installed some apps and decided to repair permissions with disk utility enabled disk utility debug menu selected show every partition

    and I found

    Macintosh
    EFI (hidden)
    Macintosh (hidden)
    Recovery HD (hidden)

    I thought I made a mistake so erased it again (firewire through my old MBP)
    checked it with diskutil corestorage list
    came back "No CoreStorage logical volume groups found"

    re-did installation of yosemite and again when it booted up it created hidden macintosh and recovery hd. Recovery HD doesn't show up at boot when hold down option key. ran diskutil corestorage list and there it was again

    how do I stop it from creating fusion drive automatically? I have only one 1TB SSD, why does it create logical volume? and how do I stop it?

    can someone share some thoughts on this?
     
  2. fenderbass146 macrumors 65816

    fenderbass146

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana
    #2
    Maybe I am not understanding or your not, but a Fusion drive requires two drives. It is not making a fusion drive.
     
  3. netsped macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #3
    Just make a bootable USB drive of Yosemite installer and boot from it, go to Disk Utilities and from there erase all partitions from your drive.

    Then create a new one (I name mine Macintosh SSD) and the install Yosemite from there.

    There's no need to use your old MBP.

    It just works ;)

    PS. In Yosemite, you need to press CMD+R while booting to enter into the Recovery partition.
     
  4. adarkenigma thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    #4
    yes i have been installing it from yosemite from USB only. I am not doing internet recovery. that is what i did very first time. booted rMBP in target disk mode so my old MBP can see it. erased it. came back to select disk part on installer used disk utility, I re-did partition GUID, 1 partition. selected macintosh hd and installs fine to but when it boots to desk top and i do diskutil corestorage list. it has those logical volumes recreated. I made sure that there was no corestorage before installation started. tried 3 times some how it comes back.
     
  5. tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #5
    If the yosemite installation creates a core storage logical volume you can revert it to get partitions back to normal by running these 2 commands in terminal.

    diskutil cs list

    and then

    diskutil coreStorage revert lvUUID

    where lvUUID is the last lvUUID reported by the previous Terminal command.

    Then restart for everything to get back to normal after you have run these commands in Terminal.
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    There is nothing wrong with your install and this is normal. On newer Mac portables Yosemite creates a core storage volume (different than Fusion).

    If you hold command-r when booting it will boot to recovery. Option key boot will not show recovery because of the core storage volume.

    You are fine and there is no need to turn off the core storage.
     
  7. adarkenigma, Oct 23, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2014

    adarkenigma thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    #7
    Thank you quick reply guys

    okay its suppose to have 3 hidden partitions?
    Macintosh
    EFI (hidden)
    Macintosh (hidden)
    Recovery HD (hidden)
    i can understand EFI, i thought it was duplicating or something.

    i can do boot camp partition? will that cause any problem?

    should i or shouldnt i delete that core volume.

    okay command + r works. I was worried for nothing.
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Yes... what you are seeing is normal and all those partitions should be there.

    Bootcamp will not be able to resize the core storage volume.

    If you want to resize before using bootcamp disconnect all external drives and run the command below in Terminal to turn off (revert) the core storage, then resize normally.

    Code:
    diskutil cs revert /
    You don't want to delete the core storage volume, but you can "revert" it to allow resizing of the partition if you need to. Otherwise, leave it alone.
     
  9. adarkenigma thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    #9
    thanks Weaselboy

    i might just stick with PD. i'll stick with core volume if its better for stability of OS.
     
  10. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #10
    If you are interested, look over the last couple pages of this htread. Everybody has pieced together how Apple determines when to enable the core storage, but nobody has figured out for sure yet why it is enabled. Obviously it is not by accident.

    If you don't have a specific need to disable it, I would leave it on.
     
  11. adarkenigma thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    #11
    thanks will check it out. one last question regarding CS

    how does it this effect backup strategy. I have been using superduper. do i have to do something special or just select regular volume when i do back up.
    or it doesnt matter.
     
  12. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #12
    It does not change thing for backups. Works the same.
     
  13. tywebb13, Oct 23, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2014

    tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #13
    Reverting it doesn't affect stability.

    I wouldn't worry about reverting it because if ever you actually need core storage again you can get it back with the convert command:


    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=20174754&postcount=7
     
  14. adarkenigma thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

Share This Page