How to run Street Fighter III 3RD strike in MAME OSX

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Cheech Wizard, May 26, 2009.

  1. Cheech Wizard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #1
    I am working on an IMAC Intel Core duo processor G5. I have downloaded the program MAME OSX in an effort to try and run some arcade games, a feature that I was always jealous of Windows users.

    Here's the problem when I try and open the game (Street Fighter III) it tells me that some of the files were missing and that I should look in the log window. I look there and it tells me this:

    cap-33s-2.chd NOT FOUND
    ERROR: required files are missing, the game cannot be run.


    I have looked for help in other places and it tells me I need to put the .zip files of the rom in the roms directory. So I put them in library>application support>Mame OSX>ROMS. These are the files I have put in this roms folder:

    sfiii.zip, cap-33s-2.chd.zip

    So the right files are there yet it still says it cannot find the cap-33s-2.chd file. I have tryed putting both the files in one zip and was told the same error. I also tried putting them in the roms folder as unzipped files and I still get the error. What am I doing wrong?

    Here are some pictures to help explain this more clearly:

    I am trying to open the game highlighted:
    [​IMG]

    This is a screenshot showing what files are where and what error is appearing when I open the game:
    [​IMG]

    Thanks for all the help.:)
     
  2. xandroid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #2
  3. Cander macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #3
    Perhaps I am wrong but if I recall there is a seperate folder you use for hard drive images witth MAME. It has been a long time since I have used MAME so I could be mistaken.
     
  4. Cheech Wizard thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #4
    I think you're onto something there cander. But what do you put in this "hard drive images" folder? I've tryed putting the same files in as the ones in the Roms folder but this didn't work. Maybe this has something to do with the "parent" roms or something. The thing is I just want a simple guide with no technical talk. I've looked at the link that xandroid posted before and it wasn't explained very well what you needed to do.
     
  5. vitaflo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    #5
    It's hard to talk about MAME without getting technical. The entire point of the program is to document hardware.

    That said, your ROMs (zip files) go in the ROMs folder. Your CHD's go in the Hard Disk Images folder. However, CHD's are NOT zipped.

    Secondly, all ROMs need to be named correctly, and have the appropriate ROMs in them *for that version of MAME*. MAME OS X is behind the official MAME release, as such if you have the latest ROMs for SF3, they may very well not work in MAME OS X since it's behind. The SF3 ROMs were recently renamed in MAME and thus there could be compatibility issues. So fix your problems as listed above and try it. If it works, great, if not, you're outta luck.
     
  6. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #6
    You need one that has all the files in there already.
     
  7. Cheech Wizard thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #7
    Alright guys massive update. I managed to get it to work! I think it was just the version compatibilities that were stopping me before. I shouldn't have tryed to download the USA version. Instead I downloaded the Japanese version(makes no difference in a fighting game). It works flawlessly.

    I think you only need CHD's if the file required an original CD to run it on the CPS3 machine. The Japanese version says "No CD" which I guess is why I did not need a CHD file.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Cheech Wizard thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #8
    Ok heres another question regarding MAME OSX. Can I use it to play online with games like Street Fighter III? I know Windows has an application called 2D fighter or something. Is there anything similar to it for mac?

    Also does anyone here know how to stream from emulators on websites like mogulus live broadcast and such?
     
  9. nhexima macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    #9
    Yeah, you never want to use the CHD options, since every time you start it'll have to reload the disk image in the BIOS. Just use the NO CD sets.

    Unfortunately all of the netplay options you're referring to (namely GGPO, 2DF and Kaillera) are all Windows only. You're going to have to Boot Camp.
     
  10. ch0k0r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    Great Britain
    #10
    This is great info guys i'll try this when i get home tonight
     
  11. militantmind macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #11
    While I can get SF3 to run, it runs HORRIBLY... Perhaps I'm doing something wrong? I have 0.135 mame osx, all appropriate BIOS and have both the CHD version and sfiii3n.zip versions ... Stupid need help? ;P (running in 64bit 10.6.4)
     
  12. Dr. McKay macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium, Europe
    #12
    I've got Mame OS X on my Intel iMac, and only use it for SF3. And even then, I only play it once in a while.
    I have a lot more fun playing old CPS2 and Neo Geo games on MacMame (SF3 is no match for the Alpha series). It's for PPC, but it runs flawlessly on Intel. I could play them in Mame OS X but then I'd have to update every single ROM (and I have EVERY CPS2 and EVERY Neo Geo game) and that's just a waste of time...
    I'd love to get an Xbox 360 or PS3 at some point, though. I've played Super Streetfighter IV at a friend's house and that was just awesome (Forza 3 was equally awesome so I might go for the 360 as I didn't like GT4 on PS2).
     
  13. pooryou macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #13
    What's the best OSX version of MAME these days?

    Is MacMame officially dead?
     
  14. SpeedracerX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #14
    I'm running version .135 and the latest is .138 so I don't think its dead, just a little behind. I only wish there was network support native, instead of boot camp.
     
  15. halomojo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #15
    Same here! Let me know if you guys figure out a fix. Mine runs at a very choppy frame/audio rate. Thanks
     
  16. potatis macrumors 6502a

    potatis

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    #16
    what processors do you have? I think I tried to run SF3 in OSX once, on a C2D 2.0 GHz. It was too slow to play. I also tried running it in Windows7, but couldn't figure out where to place & name the ROMs correctly. Has anyone tried it on the newer i5/i7 processors?
     
  17. lostless macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    #17
    Best way to play I've found is running crossover games with MAMEui (the windows mame GUI port). Not only can you run the latest version of mame, but it runs full speed with most games. ( except the few that are also slow on windows). Give crossover a try. They give you a 1 week trial and it's been well worth the $ I paid for it.
     
  18. bloodriotzero, Dec 30, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2010

    bloodriotzero macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #18
    Same SFIII issues + Killer Instinct

    I'm having similar problems with Street Fighter III and some other ROMs also. Running MAME OSX 0.135 and I'm on a pretty up-to-date system (3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 8GB of RAM) so I doubt it's a hardware issue on my end. Basically when finally getting SFIII: 3rd Strike to run and "installing" the CD, the game runs very slow and choppy. Any ideas and/or tips on how to fix this issue???

    I'm also having this same issue, only much MUCH worse, with the Killer Instinct and Killer Instinct 2 ROMs. I installed the CHDs for both in the correct folder. At first I tried using MacMAME but the game would literally move at only a frame every 30 seconds. I'm having better luck with MAME OS X but it is still running extremely slow!! Any help on either issue would be GREATLY appreciated!!!

    Other problems I'm having are simply getting other games to work (SFIII, SFIII: DI, SVC Chaos, Metal Slug 5, KoF2003) but I guess that has to do w/ the version of games and the out-of-date MAME.
     
  19. j2048b macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    Cali
    #19
    where do you get the mac mame? Also which is the best to use mameosx or mac mame,

    and is there a place to actually get roms?

    I use to have like 50 discs for the windows version of mame with over a zillion games! it was the coolest ever, but outa all the games i had, tecmo bowl, excite bike double dribble, and duck hunt were all i really ever played!

    i will see if i can get copies of all those discs again, if i do ill let you guys know!
     
  20. raginwulf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    #20
    You must run MAME .124 for SF3, build .135 doesn't work for this game and others (Psikyo games for exemple).
     
  21. kaioshade macrumors regular

    kaioshade

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    #21
    I use SDLMame

    It requires the SDL library, but performance is solid.

    There is no pretty graphical frontend for it, and it runs from terminal, but it is current with the windows port of mame

    http://sdlmame.parodius.com/
     
  22. Maven1975 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #22
    Huge thanks for this tip. Now my 11" MBA is complete. SFIII on the go!!! MameOSX .124 FTW!
     

Share This Page