How to tell if my iMac has a gigabit 10/100/1000 ethernet

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Imola Ghost, Dec 16, 2012.

  1. Imola Ghost macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #1
    I have a 2010 27" iMac, which is the very first 27" model they shipped.
     
  2. GGJstudios, Dec 16, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2012

    GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    It has 10/100/1000Base-T. You can find specs on all Apple products:

    Ethernet Capabilities of Macs
     
  3. Imola Ghost thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #3


    Actually mine is a 2009 model.

    What do you mean "It doesn't. It has 10/100/1000Base-T"

    I put in my serial number and it said I had....


    Built-in 10/100/1000BASE-T Gigabit Ethernet (RJ-45 connector)


    Does this not mean I don't have gigabit? I might be confused as to what the difference is but it appears that I do have it.

    comments?
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    I edited that out. It was a mistake.
     
  5. Imola Ghost thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #5
    Gotcha. Thanks for those links, they are very helpful.
     
  6. JoeG4 macrumors 68030

    JoeG4

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Bay Area, Ca.
    #6
    I think all of the iMacs since the G5 come with gigabit ethernet ports :)
     
  7. blanka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #7
    All macs since the G4 Gigabit have Gigabit. So that is 12 years now!
    Apple was pretty early with this.
     

Share This Page