How to tell which speed iPad is using to connect to Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by edlsen, Apr 6, 2012.

  1. edlsen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    #1
    I know that my iPad should be (if all is set up correctly) using the 5ghz side of the Airport Extreme, but how do I know?

    I have 4Mb service (which recently got updated from 500kb service!) so I don't have a ton of wiggle room when it comes to streaming video, but when I speed test my hard wired (through the AE) pc I get all of the 4Mb speed, but I can be sitting right next the AE and I speed test the iPad and consistently get 1.5Mb.

    This is a 64gb Verizon 3rd gen iPad in case that helps.

    Thanks
    Jared
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    You have to check using Airport Utility. Even G mode running in the 2.4Ghz band will fully use the available 4Mbps. I think even B can use it all as well.
     
  3. DaveTheRave macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    #3
  4. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #4
    An alternative would be to have the 5GHz network named something different than the 2.4. I have the 5GHz added to the end of my network name for this.
     
  5. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #5
    If you're not getting more than 1,5 Mbps when right next to the router, it's not because of which band it's using... Sorry for not providing any answer, but at least you don't have to obsess over it anymore ;)
     

Share This Page