How to upgrade from Yosemite to El Captain now that Sierra is out?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Cybrax-etc, Sep 24, 2017.

?

Should I get Sierra or El captain considering the limited memory?

Poll closed Sep 29, 2017.
  1. Sierra

    66.7%
  2. El Captain

    33.3%
  1. Cybrax-etc macrumors newbie

    Cybrax-etc

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #1
    SPECIFICATIONS: iMac from mid 2011 with 8 GB Memory & 3 TB Hard Drive

    PROBLEM: I want to update some of my applications , but I have to have at least El captain in order to do so. Since Sierra is out, I can update but it takes to much memory and I want El captain instead which takes less.

    I tried to go to apple's download page and download el captain but in order to download I have to have at least 10.11.0, but apple only has from 10.11.2 and later on. There are other sites who have 10.12.0 but I don't trust its legitimacy.

    Any help or advice? Or Safe Links
     
  2. ApolloBoy macrumors 6502a

    ApolloBoy

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #2
    Sierra runs just fine with 8 GB of RAM, no reason to go with El Cap if your machine is capable of running Sierra.
     
  3. Cybrax-etc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Cybrax-etc

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #3
    But I have Final Cut Pro X and it requires 4GB Memory its recommends 8GB Memory for 4k and 3D titles. Won't the machine go slow with all that running?
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    Here's a link to the App Store download page for El Capitan, which you can use.
    That will download the full El Capitan installer app, and not just the version updater that you found on Apple's support download page.

    Or, Sierra will work OK, but is not really optimized for a spinning hard drive.

    Another thing that you can consider is upgrading the RAM.
    There's no reason (other than the cost of new RAM) to stay with 8GB, if you would like more RAM.
    The mid-2011 iMac (either 21.5-inch, or 27-inch) can be upgraded easily to 32GB maximum, if you should want to do that. Either one has 4 RAM slots, and each slot can take an 8GB RAM card.
     
  5. ApolloBoy macrumors 6502a

    ApolloBoy

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #5
    I was gonna say, if you're that concerned about RAM you can easily bump it up, it's literally just undoing a single screw at the bottom.
     
  6. Cybrax-etc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Cybrax-etc

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #6
    Thanks will try this method in a little while. Yeah I will try to upgrade ram but also considering to by a new macbook pro with touch bar when the next one comes.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 24, 2017 ---
    Thanks For Speedy Reply. MacRumors is the best solution for any apple problems been using the site since one day and been getting quick responses!
     
  7. maclad, Sep 24, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2017

    maclad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Can I use that link to update my macbook Pro, 2 off 4 GB memory, that I believe is Mountain Lion, to El Captan?
     
  8. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    It's an El Capitan full installer app.
    Apple made that available for those that want to upgrade, either because their system is still running Snow Leopard (which won't upgrade directly to Sierra or newer), or to upgrade to El Capitan on those older Macs that are limited to El Capitan.
    I believe it will also upgrade a Mac running Mountain Lion very nicely, to El Capitan.
    On your 2012 Mac, you would also then have the choice to upgrade past El Capitan --- or stop there, whatever you prefer.

    Keep a copy of the installer app, as the app will delete itself when the install is complete.
    Or, even better, use one of the methods to make a bootable installer from that app. Just search for "create bootable USB from El Capitan installer". I like to use the good DiskMakerX app.
     
  9. Mac03ForLife macrumors member

    Mac03ForLife

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Location:
    Next Air Race - Budapest
    #9
    So I've noticed something interesting with my own experiences. I own a 2011 MBP 13, with a 2.4GHz i5 and 4GB of DDR3 Memory, along with a 500GB SATA HDD. Ultimately, due to my 2003 Powermac G5, my laptop sat in a closet for close to 3 years (Why use something you don't need). When I finally figured that I needed a laptop (school stuff), I took it to the apple store, to be freshly imaged with El Cap. This ran painstakingly slow, and when it did load things, they would crash. Eventually, I got the thing into working condition, ran things fine, why mess with success. Then Sierra happened. I updated to Sierra, and now THE THING RUNS LIKE I BOUGHT IT YESTERDAY. it makes no sense. Even the 4GB of RAM has no effect on the speed of the laptop. So, yes, Go with Sierra.

    In addition, you could grab a lion disk, install that, and go through consecutive upgrades until you reach your desired new OSX (or MacOS).

    Also also, a PowerMac G5 is still very capable ;)
     
  10. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #10
    8gb of RAM is not going to be a problem.

    The internal platter-based HDD -IS- going to be a problem.

    All the new versions of the OS seem to have been designed to run best on SSD's or fusion drives.

    This isn't to imply that El Cap or LoSierra won't run on a platter based HDD.
    BUT...
    ... from the user standpoint (YOUR standpoint), the overall experience will seem more like the OS is "walking" instead of "running".

    Just be so advised before you take the leap.

    I prefer El Cap, myself.
     
  11. Cybrax-etc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Cybrax-etc

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #11
    About do a internet recovery and wondering if I could use this installer to upgrade from mac os 10.7 (lion) to el captain
     
  12. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
  13. Cybrax-etc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Cybrax-etc

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #13
    Ok thanks but is it 100% sure because my Mac's been through a lot and want to be safe
     
  14. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #14
    I believe that "100% sure" does not exist :D
    One way to be as close to 100% as possible: be sure you have a full backup before you start.
    An OS X install is (usually) pretty stable, but sometimes glitches happen... (it should help you be more confident when you have a way to go back, if you need it...)
     
  15. Cybrax-etc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Cybrax-etc

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #15
    Yeah I will make a time machine backup and then install. I heard that for the smoothest and best transitions make time machine back ups, why is that so? Its recommended like everywhere.
     
  16. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #16
    "Why?"
    It's the built-in software installed the macOS system, which runs automatically. You don't have to think about using it.

    I don't use time machine at all, I have never used it since it first appeared in OS X. I have no technical reason for that, but I just have not liked how Apple portrays it. Works great for most (but not "everywhere" -- I think that's a bit far-fetched :) )
    I prefer Carbon Copy Cloner. Other users here have other solutions.
    But, your solution for your own backups would be the one that successfully works for you. :D
     
  17. Cybrax-etc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Cybrax-etc

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #17

    Help: https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...e-and-my-mac-wont-work.2071684/#post-25153433
     
  18. kohlson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #18
    TM, especially a Time Capsule, is recommended because it works well in making backups. I use it when I move users between systems.
     
  19. Tech198, Oct 1, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2017

    Tech198 macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #19
    Yep, I'm running on 8 Gig now.

    The only thing about TM, if a system is slow and you back that up, and restore from backing, your only restoring the problem, not fixing the problem. Although re-installs would create a "previous" saved profile, how do you you know everything is there ?. Particularly its its in root directory /use folders app could install to, which often have no idea where bits as and pieces always go
     

Share This Page