How to use an iphone 4 (AT&T) with a French carrier?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by KimLA, Apr 6, 2012.

  1. KimLA macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm currently studying in Paris and I'll be staying a whole year. The thing is I can't use my iphone 4 there with a French carrier because it is locked by AT&T and they don't want to know anything about unlocking.

    Is there a way to make my phone work here? I like it too much, I would not like to use a Nokia 3410 a friend gave to me for a whole year, that would drive me crazy!! Can a JB solve my problem? I need to be 100% sure as I wouldn't like to risk to brickwall my phone for nothing.

    Thanks,
    Kimberley
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #3
    Depending on your baseband you might be able to unlock it with software. Also, if you paid an ETF and have paid all of your bills, AT&T may start unlocking qualifying iPhones starting on Sunday.
     
  4. KimLA thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #4
    Hi, thanks.

    Applejuiced, this is iOS 5.1

    miles01110, I have no clue what you're talking about in your first sentence!
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  6. KimLA thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #6
    So there's absolutely no way for me to use it here?
     
  7. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #7
    Not unless you qualify to have it unlocked by AT&T. Did you pay an early termination fee?
     
  8. toiday macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #8
    You can buy a Gevey sim. There are many version of gevey sim. The one that work is Ultra.
     
  9. TriJetHero, Apr 9, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2012

    TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #9
    Only works up to BB 4.10.1

    If the phone is on 5.1 it will probably have BB 4.12.01 which is unlockable.

    @OP BB or baseband is the radio portion of the iPhone which is a "mini" OS which is separate from the iOS.
    You can check which BB you have in Settings/General/Info
    At the bottom it states Modemfirmware, that is your BB version
     

Share This Page