How to use LG 2560x1040 with HDMI only input with Mac Pro Mid 2010 with ATI 5770?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mrshoghi, Mar 3, 2016.

  1. mrshoghi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    #1
    I have a mid 2010 mac pro with ATI 5770 Graphic card with latest El Capitan. I also have a LG 2560x1040 resolution monitor that I would like to use with my mac. The monitor only has 2 HDMI inputs. How can I get full 2560x1040 resolution with my setup.


    -5770 specs shows that can support 2560 resolution.

    -I've used Mini Display Port to HDMI adapter and HDMI cable to monitor, but only displays 1920x1040. The adapter says supports 4K, and the have used the cable to get full resolution on an Ubuntu computer.(in this setup mDP to 5770 and HDMI to monitor)

    -When I use DVI to HDMI, OS X detects full 2560x1040 resolution but the screen shows the resolution in half, as if every other vertical line is missing and only about half the with of screen is show on the center of monitor.(in this setup DVI to 5770 and HDMI to monitor)



    What do I need to get 2560x1040 on my monitor that only has HDMI input?
     
  2. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #2
    Simple answer - you have to use hdmi port on videocard to get that resolution.

    2560x1040 would need dual-lin dvi. And all this adapters from dvi to hdmi are single-link only

    mini-dp to hdmi that supports 4k looks good but could be a software issue on osx side.

    Anyway, only hdmi port on videocard will work 100%, if it's missing, need new videocard.
     
  3. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #3
    If it's a genuine Apple one (which doesn't have HDMI) an active mDP to HDMI should work. I have one that can drive my U2515H @1440p.
     
  4. TheStork macrumors regular

    TheStork

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #4
    The key word in the above is "active" adapter. ;)
     
  5. mrshoghi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    #5
    Thank you all for the replies. I will try the active adapter.

    You people are amazing to share your knowledge and experience with others.

    Until I get the active adapter, I found a DisplayLink USB video card that I had, that works with full resolution. The only downside is heavy CPU usage, especially when playing videos.

    Photos:
    https://goo.gl/photos/Lkdz8iagFzvpDixQ6
     
  6. phillyboy82 macrumors regular

    phillyboy82

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Location:
    Not from Philly
    #6

Share This Page