How to verify an iPhone 5 is tmobile version?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by K1ngkev1n1, Apr 29, 2013.

1. K1ngkev1n1 macrumors regular

I'm going to get a. iPhone 5 off eBay how do I verify it is a tmobile version that will get 4g and lte? Is there a number or somewhere to look?

2. bozzykid macrumors 68020

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5720

Also, the bottom of the box will say 1700/2100 under HSPA. However, it is unlikely you will find many of these phones on eBay since they have only been available since April 12th.

3. Vermifuge macrumors 6502a

Vermifuge

Specifically, what are the benefits? I have a PRE T-Mo iPhone 5 (unlocked) that I have been using for a few months. T-Mo pushed an update and I seem to get great service with 4G. What would I gain from one of the newer factory unlocked T-Mo phones?

4. K1ngkev1n1 thread starter macrumors regular

I'm going to buy a new one not used

5. SR45 macrumors 65832

SR45

Even new ones from Ebay may not be T-Mobil ready. Seller could have stacks of these from weeks ago

6. K1ngkev1n1 thread starter macrumors regular

Well that's why I'm asking how to verify its real tmobile version

7. Nermal Moderator

Nermal

Staff Member

The new model provides 3G in areas that haven't been "refarmed". You're getting good service because you're lucky enough to be in one of the new areas :)

8. rockitdog macrumors 68020

model number of the T-Mobile Iphone 5 (black/16GB) is ME486LL/A. Should be on the back of the box and also in the phone number about (the phone).

9. K1ngkev1n1 thread starter macrumors regular

Will a cut reg sim work in the iPhone 5 or does it have to be nano in order to get 4g and lte?

10. darricksailo macrumors 601

darricksailo

Cutting a regular sim to nano size should work. You need the carrier update to get LTE (should you be in an area with LTE coverage)

11. Prime85 macrumors 6502a

Prime85