How well does the rMB perform with a FHD or greater resolution external monitor?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by kylera, Feb 4, 2016.

  1. kylera macrumors 65816

    kylera

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Seoul
    #1
    I am not thinking of games or making movies, but along the lines of multiple documents and static web browser windows open.
     
  2. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #2
    Should be absolutely perfectly totally fine. 4K might not be ideal since it will only do 30Hz. But 1080p is below the resolution of its own display and is really a quite low resolution these days, so it's fine.
    It'll do 2560x1440 just fine, too.
     
  3. in Cider macrumors member

    in Cider

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    #3
    I use it with a 4k and its workable, but would prefer 60hz refre
    Agreed, I do 4k @ 30Hz from time to time when I'm docked. While it's very usable, it feels a bit laggy.
     
  4. phositadc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #4
    3440x1440 checking in here. 60 Hz absolutely fine.
     
  5. tka7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    #5
    That's good news. I was wondering if it could do that last night.
     
  6. threee macrumors newbie

    threee

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6
    I have the 34" Curved LG 34UC97-S, which is also 3440x1440, and I'm only getting 30 hz (50 hz PAL, but I'm not in Europe where that might make a difference). There is no 60 hz option for me. I'm using the Apple multi-port adapter to HDMI, to the monitor. How are you making this work?
     
  7. pjfan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Columbus OH
    #7
    2560x1440 checking in. I use both the macbook display and Dell 25" extended display. (love the keyboard too much to clamshell it)
     
  8. phositadc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #8
    I Did nothing special. Also using the Apple adapter. Just plugged in and it worked. My monitor is the Dell though, not the LG.

    Only suggestion I have is to try a newer HDMI cable.
     
  9. threee macrumors newbie

    threee

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #9
    Ohhh, that's right, the HDMI cable. I'm using the one that came with the LG. Maybe I'll buy a new HDMI 2.0 cable and give it a try. As I haven't done any gaming or video editing with this machine yet, I don't notice any drawbacks with only a 30 hz refresh rate. But of course, I would rather get 60 hz. if I can.
     
  10. phositadc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #10
    In another thread somebody just posted they were only getting 30hz until they changed HDMI cable and are now getting 60.
     

Share This Page