I can see my neighbors PC, under the shared column in finder, can they see mine?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Swagged, Jul 10, 2014.

  1. Swagged, Jul 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2014

    Swagged macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Location:
    Gotham City, New York
    #1
    My file sharing is off. I clicked on their pc, and it said connecting I hope their pc didn't alert them...

    This is what I see: [​IMG]
     
  2. 556fmjoe macrumors 65816

    556fmjoe

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    #2
    Uh, are you on his network or is he on yours?
     
  3. GhettoMrBob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    #3
    Clearly you're either sharing your network with them or vice versa. That would be my first major concern if you are connected to YOUR network and have not given them permission to use it.
     
  4. Ann P macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    California
  5. Swagged, Jul 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2014

    Swagged thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Location:
    Gotham City, New York
    #5
    Ok, I'm changing my wifi password immediately
     
  6. capathy21 macrumors 65816

    capathy21

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    #6
    Tell your cheap neighbor to pay for their own internet!
     
  7. ProVideo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    #7
    Was it 12345?
     
  8. Swagged thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Location:
    Gotham City, New York
    #8

    No one of my siblings probably gave the password to them...
     
  9. happyfrappy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Location eh?
    #9
    If it wasn't shared wifi passwords, some cable internet providers such as Comcast Xfinity wifi routers will allow other customers to use your service as part of their wifi everywhere scheme.

    On the other hand, some cable providers don't firewall their modems so sometimes you can see other computers/networked printers on the node :eek: (MediaOne/AT&T Broadband suffered this, Comcast replaced modems to avoid this)
     
  10. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #10
    They aren't allowed onto the same network with those schemes. Comcast basically sets up a shadow network.

    If that isn't working, he should be on the phone with his provider. No way an ISP can just open up one's network to others and that is OK. I'm pretty sure that's also illegal, hence the shadow network that is normally used.

    It's like how Airport routers can broadcast two entirely different networks that share the same internet connection.
     
  11. Ambush083 macrumors regular

    Ambush083

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #11
    Block their Mac in case they connect again haha.
     
  12. happyfrappy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Location eh?
    #12
    I'm not a Comcast customer, I've known friends who've had to do modem-router firmware updates to fix a shadow network bug--heck it wasn't illegal when MediaOne/AT&T Broadband didn't wall their cable modems/nodes during the mid 90s to 2003. Heck, in some areas Comcast still uses Amiga A4000 with Video Toaster at their community network studios :D
     

Share This Page