I cant seem to restore to iOS 4.2.1 (from a JB 4.1)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by iMattcotv, Feb 5, 2011.

  1. iMattcotv macrumors 6502

    iMattcotv

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #1
    Right now as it is, I tried to restore to fresh iOS4.2.1 (from a JB iOS4.1), but it didnt work. I got an Error:

    iPhone could not be restored. An Unknown error occured (10)

    Now I am stuck looking at the Plug and iTunes logo.

    I did restore correctly, I have the latest iTunes, I did turn off firewall, I did put it into DFU mode, I downloaded iOS4.2.1 from Felixbruns.de, in fact I used 3 different iOS 4.2.1 files

    WTF?

    I cant even seem to downgrade back to iOS 4.1 using the host file IP address method (getting iTunes to talk to Cydias server)

    I tried restoring to fresh iOS4.1 and I get:

    iPhone could not be restored. An Unknown error occured (1006)

    Can you guys please help me out?
     
  2. klamse25 macrumors 6502a

    klamse25

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #2
    Use TinyUmbrella TSS server, then restore...
    Let me know if it works. :cool:
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Open up tinyumbrella, go to advanced/uncheck the box "set hosts to cydia on exit" and apply changes.
    Then open up itunes and restore to 4.2.1 again. This time it will go thru.
    Here's where to get TU btw http://thefirmwareumbrella.blogspot.com/
     
  4. neko girl macrumors 6502a

    neko girl

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #4
    Do the restore in DFU and not in Restore mode. You can tell you're in DFU because of the blank screen, not the "connect to iTunes" picture.
     
  5. neko girl macrumors 6502a

    neko girl

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #5
    Why? Apple hasn't stopped signing 4.2.1. This should be unnecessary.
     
  6. klamse25 macrumors 6502a

    klamse25

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #6
    I've heard this works from multiple sources.
     
  7. klamse25 macrumors 6502a

    klamse25

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #7
    To preserve his current BB.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    That has nothing to do with Apple signing 4.2.1.
    His hosts if pointed to cydia then the restore gets stuck cause the baseband doesnt get updated to the 4.2.1 version thus putting the phone in recovery mode and not beeing able to kick out of recovery with TU.
    I just went thru the same with a friends i4 updating to 4.2.1 and JB with Greenpoison and that's how it worked;)
     
  9. iMattcotv thread starter macrumors 6502

    iMattcotv

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #9
    That sounds like it will work, I did exactly that (and also removed the Cydia IP from Hosts) and am trying it now.

    I will update on the progress, It usually finishes restoring, checks the software, then QUICKLY finishes the restore and fails (error 10)

    FINGURES CROSSED!!!!
     
  10. iMattcotv thread starter macrumors 6502

    iMattcotv

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #10
    I was doing it in DFU mode (hold power for 2, + home for 10, let go of power and hold home for 15, shift click restore xD)

    It never worked, but I am trying it now that I unchecked what I was told to above.

    THE SUSPENSE IS KILLING ME SLOWLY.. UGH

    EDIT:

    ****KKKKKKKKKKKKKK

    It didnt work -.-

    EDIT 2:

    Im going to try it in Recovery mode this time, not DFU mode and see what happens.
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    You dont need to do both.
    Just do it thru TU settings in order to put back the correct apple hosts redirect.
    And then later you can check the box back again if you need to for future use.
    Make sure you shut down itunes before you do that with TU and then open it up again for the restore.

    What difference would that make?
    He's just restoring to official firmware. DFU or restore mode will both do the same.
     
  12. neko girl macrumors 6502a

    neko girl

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #12
    @Applejuiced, klamse25, the TU step is needed only if preserving baseband? Or for all upgrades 4.1 -> 4.2.1 for jailbreak?
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Girlie, the TU step is just to put the original apple redirect towards apples servers and not on cydias server so the restore will go thru with all baseband and firmware checks.
    He's just unchecking a box and shutting down TU and then going thru with a regural restore.;)
     
  14. Jkazmeyer, Feb 5, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2011

    Jkazmeyer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Location:
    Madison TN
    #14
    i was having this problem all day until i realized that tiny umbrella was the reason for the errors for some reason, even though i have my hashes backed up and had the server running. once i changed the host file back to point at apple instead of cydia it worked perfectly. i have no need to keep my baseband, and was just wanting to upgrade, so tu was not needed. ive now run greenpois0n on it and it seems to work great.

    EDIT: just read applejuiced's reply... wish i knew that before i tried to figure out where to find and how to edit my host file
     
  15. iMattcotv thread starter macrumors 6502

    iMattcotv

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #15

    Alright Im doing exactly what you said, I even restarted my PC to make sure everything iTunes was closed.

    If it doesnt work then, Ill uninstall TinyUmbrella, and if it doesnt work THEN

    Im going to throw it out my window.

    EDIT:

    Ok its not working.. WTF?

    What is the original Apple IP that is suppose to be in my Host file?

    Ill just place it, delete the host umbrella one, and delete umbrella and see if that fixes anything.

    Is it 127.0.0.1 ?
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Just relax, calm and slow down and follow directions slowly without skipping steps.
    It will and does work, you just gotta be patient.
    Download TU, run tinyumbrella , go to advanced/UNCHECK the box "set hosts to cydia on exit" and apply changes.
    Now close TU.
    Then open up itunes and hit restore that's all.
    You dont need and dont have to uninstall tinymbrella.
    Hosts file should be
    127.0.0.1 gs.apple.com
    Make sure you click save before you exit if you go the manual roote.
     
  17. iMattcotv thread starter macrumors 6502

    iMattcotv

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #17
    I know and thats the last thing I just tried.

    After I got the error message, I opened up my host file and it had the IP that redirects iTunes to Cydia still, shouldnt it have changed?

    Im going to try again and see what happens. lol
     
  18. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    Lol :D
    Dude, its not that hard:D
    Dont smash the computer or the iphone:D
     
  19. iMattcotv thread starter macrumors 6502

    iMattcotv

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #19
    Nahh they are both too expensive to destroy..

    Anyway, I just tried to restore again when my host file looks like this:

    # Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.

    #

    # Blah Blah Blah

    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server

    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host


    # localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.


    127.0.0.1 localhost

    ::1 localhost
    127.0.0.1 gs.apple.com


    And now its saying that it couldnt restore because it couldnt contact the server. :D

    Ill admit, even though this is frustrating, im glad im learning and will eventually get it right Lol
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    Interesting.
    If it couldnt contact the server then at least you know you set the hosts correct to point to Apple's activation servers.
    Maybe try another computer to update/restore to 4.2.1
    One that you havent messed with the hosts file or TU:)
    Seems like something on your system is blocking communication between itunes and apples servers.
     
  21. iMattcotv thread starter macrumors 6502

    iMattcotv

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #21
    The exact message is this:

    "The iPhone "iPhone" cannot be restored at this time because the iPhone software update server could not be contacted or is temporarily unavailable."

    Ill disable my firewall and try again, do you know anything else that may be blocking it? I have AVG Internet Security 2011 but I dont see anyway of disabling it.

    EDIT:

    I cant use any other computer because this is the only one I have access to atm.

    EDIT 2:

    I just disabled AVG AND my firewall and it still isnt working. Hmm..
     
  22. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #22
    Try disabling the firewall or turning off AVG if you can find a way to do so.
    You dont have peerblock or peerguardian running right?
     
  23. iMattcotv thread starter macrumors 6502

    iMattcotv

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #23
    I did find a way to disable AVG (for 10 minutes) and did also disable firewall and then tried to restore, but it still returns the "cannot contact server" error.

    The only programs I have that I think I know what your talking about is Frostwire and utorrent :D
     
  24. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #24
    You shut off itunes and restarted it after you disabled all that stuff right?
    I dont know what else could be either blocking it or maybe their servers might be busy with everyone restoring, activating and JB 4.2.1
     
  25. iMattcotv thread starter macrumors 6502

    iMattcotv

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #25
    Wow.. Turns out the reason I was getting the server error, was because I didnt put in the # before 127.0.0.1 gs.apple.com.

    I just changed that, and now its restoring. HOPE IT WORKS THIS TIME.

    I figured I didnt have to place a hash before the IP because I didnt see it for any other one on my list.

    Fingures & Feet crossed this time!!!

    EDIT:

    Ahh I thought it was gonna work for SURE that time.. but I got the Error 10 again..
     

Share This Page