I Don't Understand Western Culture

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by CubaTBird, May 25, 2007.

1. CubaTBird macrumors 68020

So I am a college student at a somewhat prestigious four year university and I find there is something I don't quite understand. Last semester I took a basic health class to fulfill some ge requirement and all throughout the class I remember the teacher saying things like "always get tested before having sex" or "always use protection" etc etc. I would even see posters in the health sci building promoting such "awareness" to college students.

However..

I would then go out to other places on campus and see signs and banners that say things like "the place to hook it up" or hear about sororities auctioning off guys to girls. Or ads that just float around on campus that promote "sexy singles, hook up night 07".

I mean its almost complete irony, am I right here? I mean unless the people at these parties are in the moment and they say things like "hey babe, before we hook up lets run down to the hospital and get tested... my health prof. said so, then we can do it"...

What do you think?:eek:

2. leekohler macrumors G5

leekohler

First of all, you're in Southern California, of course you're confused. :)

Secondly, I think you might be taking those posters a bit too literally.

3. ham_man macrumors 68020

ham_man

If your school wants any federal assistance, it has to say that. Other entities that don't need to play by those rules merely play off the horniness present on any college campus.

4. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

MacBoobsPro

The campus wants you to hook up and have a good time. The posters are saying be careful about it. :rolleyes:

5. elfin buddy macrumors 6502a

elfin buddy

Wow, that's a very specific aspect of Western culture which you've singled out. I was expecting more of a full-blown rant against rampant consumerism and social selfishness.

For the record, it's not something I understand either ;)