I dual-booted Yosemite and Mavericks, but I still cannot access Mavericks.

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Geoffthebunchie, Jul 24, 2014.

  1. Geoffthebunchie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    #1
    I partitioned my hard drive and installed Yosemite on the partition, but now I cannot access Mavericks. Even if I hold down the "Alt" key before the computer starts up, I just get the status bar for Yosemite.

    Help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #2
    Boot into Yosemite and go to preferences and pick the default partition Mavericks you want to boot to. Once picked, reboot your Mac. You should be able to see the partion.
     
  3. WhackyNinja macrumors 68000

    WhackyNinja

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Location:
    Kissimmee, FL
    #3
    I can vouch for the post above. Happened to me so I did the same thing now all partitions can be seen for me
     
  4. Geoffthebunchie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    #4
    Thanks. I guess that should have been obvious.
     
  5. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #5
    Same thing happened to me with the public beta. Didn't happen with any of the DP. Glad you got it fixed.
     
  6. AppleFanatic10 macrumors 68030

    AppleFanatic10

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Location:
    Encino, CA
    #6
    Thank goodness...when I had the DP1, it hid my Mavericks partition. But thanks to you, I have it back now lol.
     
  7. TechJohnson macrumors newbie

    TechJohnson

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    Tinton Falls, New Jersey
    #7
    Let us know how stable it is for you. I'm probably not updating until the final release.
     
  8. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #8
    Glad I could be of help. It does make your heart skip a Mac beat, when you can't see your default HD.
     

Share This Page