I find this infuriating

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by SilentLoner, Apr 29, 2012.

  1. SilentLoner macrumors 65816

    SilentLoner

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #1
    That I can't buy a full retail price iPhone from apple and use the CDMA chipset in it.
     
  2. b24pgg macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    CA
    #2
    How would you even do that? CDMA devices are always locked to specific carriers unless you know how to flash a different carrier's firmware.
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    You can buy one full price but you have to know what carrier you want to use it on.
    You can purchase a full price sprint iPhone but you won't be able to use it on Verizon or vice versa.
     
  4. SilentLoner thread starter macrumors 65816

    SilentLoner

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #4
    Yeah but say I want it on AT&T or simply mobile then want to go on Verizon or visa versa :(
     
  5. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #5
    It's more a limitation of the carriers (though apple has a role too since I think they do disable the CDMA portion at the factory)
     
  6. NewtonApple macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Location:
    Ellijay GA
    #6
    Yep, you can not do that. You would need to sell your device and get another.
     
  7. DerekRod macrumors 6502a

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY
    #7
    Yup welcome to the US this isn't europe the cell phone companies use different tech (GSM,CDMA)3G for GSM is on different frequencies and CDMA carriers even though they use the same freqs wont activate another carriers phone on their networks.It stinks but its life
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    True, I hear you on that.
     
  9. Demonface macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    Jersey/Miami
    #9
    I also wish this was possible but i guess this is how these companies can rip us off. It would give them the chance to overcharge us.
     

Share This Page