I have 2010 MacBook Pro and want to upgrade to 8GB RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by galaksy, Apr 29, 2014.

  1. galaksy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    #1
    http://support.apple.com/kb/sp582

    Do I have to take the two 2GB out and put in 2 4GB sticks to upgrade to 8GB?
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Yes, you have two slots.
    There's sticks already installed in all slots.
    You have to remove the existing RAM, and install new sticks in its place.
     
  3. imageWIS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    Make sure both sticks are of equal size. Since, Mac's run dual-channel memory.
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
  5. jbachandouris macrumors 68040

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #6
  6. brdeveloper macrumors 68020

    brdeveloper

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Location:
    Brasil
    #7
    Also, make sure the memory modules are low-latency ones. I found my 1066 modules at Ebay from a chi
    -------
    Also, if your MBP has a 320M, it supports up to 16GB RAM just like the 2010 White Macbook.
     
  7. galaksy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    #8
    What's a 320m? Is the 16gb ram worth it for the processor?
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    320M is the integrated graphics on the 2010 13" MacBook Pro.

    Anyways if you are asking if 16GB is needed, odds are you'll be fine with 8GB.
     
  9. raptor402 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #10
    Hey,

    I'm running 1600MHz Corsair Vengeance SO-DIMMs in my 15" mid-2010 MBP without any issues. Of course, I would recommend the 1066MHz DIMMs to the OP (I nabbed mine from my brother because it didn't work in his MBP).

    However, should unavailability prevail, higher speed memory (1333MHz or 1600MHz) will work just fine; it'll automatically underclock to 1066MHz.

    Best of luck!
    Raptor

    EDIT: http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Channel-204-Pin-SO-DIMM-CMSA8GX3M2A1066C7/dp/B00505EZYW/

    This should be just fine.
     
  10. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #11
    RAM isn't going to do anything for the processor. There are plenty of threads that detail how to determine if RAM is a bottleneck with your system and usage.
     
  11. jbachandouris macrumors 68040

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #12
    Is there anything in OP posts that asked for opinions on if he needed memory or not? No.

    OP wants to know what memory to buy. That's all.
     
  12. lambertjohn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #13
    www.crucial.com

    Only place to buy memory in my opinion. Upgraded my 2010 Macbook Pro to 8 gb through these guys and have never had a problem since. Do it!
     
  13. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #14
    I think you missed where the OP asked exactly the question takeshi74 answered.
     
  14. hcclnoodles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
  15. galaksy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    #16
    I'm guessing the processor the 2010 MBP is pretty old by now and was wondering if it can catch up to 16GB of RAM.

    In other words, for older processors is it not worth getting 16GB rather than just 8GB because it wouldn't be able to handle any more than 8GB worth of workload?

    Or would you be able to have a lot more applications running on 16GB in spite of the older processors?
     
  16. brdeveloper macrumors 68020

    brdeveloper

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Location:
    Brasil
    #17
    If your Macbook Pro has a nVidia 320M GPU, it sounds like it has the same specs as the Unibody White Macbook 2010 which supports up to 16GB (not officially, but with a lot of successful reports at this forum).

    Well, I think having a lot of RAM is justifiable in the following applications:

    - Virtual machines: if you want running 2 or more virtual machines in the same computer, it's good giving 2GB of RAM for each one. With only 8GB, this leaves less memory available to the main OS (host) applications.

    - Processing big input data: if you're dealing with video editing, a lot of raw pictures or running heavy algorithms over 1GB+ of input data, it's good having a lot of RAM since your data will be ready for processing without needing swaping to disk/ssd. In other words, in this particular use case, your computer will "look faster" than it really is in relation to a faster cpu with less RAM.

    In short: virtual machines and big input data. If all you want is opening a lot of tabs and watching videos, you'll be fine with 8GB.
     
  17. galaksy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    #18
    Thank you. How does the 2010 processor compare to more modern processors like A8 (the in on my HP laptop), i3, i5, i7?

    ----------

    So would buying 1600Mhz be better because if you take it out in the future to put it in a better computer, the lower speed ones might not work?
     
  18. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #19
    You've never specified which 2010 model you have. If it's the 13-inch, those used older Core2 Duo processors, which are several generations old and outclassed by most modern processors.

    The 15- and 17-inch versions had first-generation Core i5 and i7 processors, which while still old, will outperform your AMD A8, but obviously not the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th generation Intel processors that Apple used in their 2011, 2012, and 2013 MacBook lines, respectively.

    In theory, buying faster spec memory would simply cause the computer to automatically downclock it to whatever speed the chipset supported. With Macs of that vintage, there's no guarantee it will work. Some have had success as evidenced above, others have not. 2011 and 2012 models have much greater memory compatibility. You can try it, just buy the RAM from a place where you know you can return it if it doesn't work.
     
  19. brdeveloper, Apr 30, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2014

    brdeveloper macrumors 68020

    brdeveloper

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Location:
    Brasil
    #20
    There's no absolute answer, but Geekbench is a common benchmark for Macs. A i7 late-2013 rMBP has a score of 3200 (single core) and 12000 (multi-core).

    A 2010 MBP, Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz, has a score of 1400 (single core) and 2400 (multi-core). In theory, 2 cores from your Mac provides worse performance than a single core from a modern MBP. In practice this is not really true. It depends on the application and if you have a SSD or a lot of RAM installed. I feel my rMBP is not too much faster than my late-2009 Macbook with a SSD and 8GB of RAM in everyday tasks like browsing and text editing.
     
  20. galaksy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
  21. raptor402 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #22
    I have the same. As mentioned above, you can buy the 1600MHz memory so that you can use it for future laptops (though it's quite unlikely that you would). I would advise you to buy the 1066MHz memory unless the 1600MHz memory is more easily available and/or cheaper.

    16GB memory will work just fine. However, get 16GB only if you need 16GB. I have 8GB of RAM and do some considerably rough work (at least one VM + Lightroom processing + multiple tabs on Chrome) and usually max out at 7GB. So, depending on your use and your future need, choose between 8GB and 16GB.

    Best of luck!
    Raptor
     
  22. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #23
    No, it won't. Only the 13-inch 2010 model can use that much RAM. The 15 and 17 are limited to 8 GB because of the chipset used.
     
  23. hcclnoodles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #24
  24. raptor402 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #25
    Really? I've been grossly misinformed in that case. I apologize.

    8GB RAM it is then.

    Raptor
     

Share This Page