I have waited a long time and now ready to buy a new MAC

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by RustyMac, Nov 11, 2007.

1. RustyMac macrumors member

I have been waiting and waiting to purchase a new Mac. I have been using the School's (where I taught) computer (dual G5s) and now would like to own one. My last Mac computer that I bought was a G3 clam style IBook (tough little computer). I have always used laptops at home because of comfort but these new Mac Book Pros are way too much for me right now. I am looking at the 24" 2.4 Ghz iMac with a wireless keyboard and mouse. The 2.8 Ghz is nice but I feel that the 2.4 is a better deal for the money (I hope). I will be using this computer for Graphic Design running Adobe CS3 (both Print and Web software).

I am a grad student and I know I can get the student discount through Apple but Apple charges tax, there goes my student discount! I have also been looking at MacMall and MacConnections. They are offering the new IMac with $100 off mail in rebate which comes to $1,694.00. That is less than the student discounted price through Apple (which is $1,749.00), plus the shipping will be free after a $40.00 mail-in rebate, a free Epson or HP all-in-one printer after-mail-in rebate, free Nova Development - PARALLELS DESKTOP 3.0 FOR MAC after mail-in rebate and last, NO TAX! The only thing with these computers are that the don't have Leopard pre-installed and will come with the Leopard DVD. I have been told by Apple that all the computers with or without Leopard installed are the same computers and run exactly the same. Plus, it gives you the option to run Tiger, Leopard, and Windows on one computer.

Ok, now for my question, is this a good deal? Has anyone had experience through MacMall? Is this the right time to buy one of these IMacs or should I wait some more? Is it better to buy from Apple? I will be saving around $110.00 if I buy it through MacMall. Any info or opinions would be great. Thanks!