I just got a new 15'' MBPr 2.3 GHz turbo-boost to 3.2 (not 3.5) GHz - is this right?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Snookerman, Mar 11, 2014.

  1. Snookerman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #1
    My late 2013 15-inch MBPr 2.3 GHz was broken and I just got a replacement from Apple. However, the new one I got says turbo-boost up to 3.2 GHz instead of 3.5 GHz. Is this a typo or what? As far as I can tell, there is no such processor available on the Apple Store. What is going on? Thanks!
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    According to Intel, if you have this processor
    http://ark.intel.com/products/76086/Intel-Core-i7-4850HQ-Processor-6M-Cache-up-to-3_50-GHz?q=4850
    then you would (in theory) have a turbo-boost on one processor to 3.5 GHz.
     
  3. Snookerman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #3
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    Your System Information will report which processor you actually have.
    Intel's data sheet will show what speed/turbo boost you have.

    (I don't care what the paper label on the outside of the box says. :D )

    If you still have some question - talk to AppleCare. Maybe there's been an in-generation, or step change of the i7 processor
     
  5. Snookerman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #5
    I haven't opened it yet, in case it has the wrong processor and I need to send it back. Can you even tell from System Information what the turbo-boost speed is?
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    I don't think you can find that out with System Information - BUT, you can find out exactly which processor you have.
    Once you verify which processor you have, then a quick referral to the relevant spec sheet will tell you what the turbo-boost specs are (and if it matters)
    And, the paper label on the outside of the box doesn't prove anything.

    How will you know what you really have, without opening the box? (?)
    (Who cares about a paper label - that's not your computer, eh?)

    If you still have a question, and you aren't confident enough to open the box to check it out, then call Apple, and see what answer they can give you.
     
  7. Barney63 macrumors 6502a

    Barney63

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Location:
    Bolton, UK.
    #7
    Mine doesn't say which model of processor it is, it just list's it as i5.
    [​IMG]

    Barney
     
  8. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    Why did you post info about a 13-inch rMBPro?

    Why are you hesitant about opening the box on the new one?
    (you can exchange or return it if you are not satisfied)
    What processor does the new one have?
    (hint: you have to take it out of the box to test it :D )
     
  9. Snookerman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #9
    I just confirmed that there is a typo on the newest Swedish boxes. Thanks for the help guys!
     

Share This Page