I just had $600+ taken/seized from my bank account- help!!!!

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by applefan1997, Jun 7, 2007.

1. applefan1997 macrumors 6502

. I was supposed to have an income check be electronically deposited, and when I asked the bank why it hasnt appeared, I was told that it was taken because there were no funds for the other transactions, and that with each transaction I make with no funds or something, they overcharge $35. I signed up for Vonage VoIP, and in doing so, gave them my credit card number. I'm not sure if it's a factor, and a couple of other transactions, but anyway. I am COMPLETELY new to checking/credit cards, and I may be describing it incorrectly. Who excactly took the check out, and can I ever recover it?
    ANY help would be greatly appreciated.

2. JNB macrumors 604

JNB

It sounds like you were overdrawn, and for each charge to the account that came in after you hit a zero balance, the bank charged you a NSF (non-sufficient funds) charge of 35 bones.

If that's the case, the bank took it, you don't get it back, and you learn an expensive & valuable lesson.

If that's not the case, then you need to reconcile your account (you should anyway), noting all deposits and charges. Your bank will provide you with everything that came & went, and when, but you must keep track of that yourself anyway.

So, what did you think you had in the account prior to the latest deposit, and what outstanding charges were there? I assume you are keeping track of all of this daily, right?

3. wyatt23 macrumors 6502a

wyatt23

listen. if you go to you bank and explain your situation... AND [big and] you have never done this before, they may remove all of them but one... or at least remove a few.

go to you bank and at least ask. if not, tell them that you will pay it, and close your account and go elsewhere... at least that will show them that you are serious and that you didn't know.

goodluck and hopefully things work.