I just put windows 10 on CD from .iso file, I insert into macbook pro and yet it still says insert d

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jdcasimi, Feb 12, 2016.

  1. jdcasimi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    #1
    I did so much for this macbook pro early 2011 , i put new harddrive in it, then had to put el capitan on it, now i need windows 10 on it, yet finally when i put my windows dvd in , its still doesn't recognize it, what did i do wrong ? pls help me ! im tired this has taken me all week to figure out what to do.
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Apple supports Windows 7 and 8.1 on that model. You'll need to "hack" 10 on there (I have no idea how).
     
  3. jdcasimi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    #3
    ohhhh okay , so if i put windows 7 or 8.1 as an iso on the CD will it work and recognize it ?
    --- Post Merged, Feb 12, 2016 ---
    ohhhh okay , so if i put windows 7 or 8.1 as an iso on the CD will it work and recognize it ?
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    It should. I haven't tried it myself, but Apple's documentation indicates that 7 and 8.1 will work.
     
  5. jdcasimi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    #5
    alrighty , ill put 7 or 8.1 as iso on my cd and insert hopefully it will work
    --- Post Merged, Feb 12, 2016 ---
    i dont need nothing else on it right, like the iso file alone should work ?
     
  6. garirry macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #6
    If you really want Windows 10, you can use the Microsoft updater tool thingy to upgrade to W10 from your existing system for free. There might be some driver bugs, but you can always restore to 7/8.1 through the Settings app in Windows 10 if there's a problem.

    Also, just to confirm, you put it on a DVD, not a CD right? They are different things (DVD is 4.7 GB, CD is 700 MB) and anything newer than Vista won't fit on a CD, so if it does fit, then the ISO file is most likely bad.
     
  7. jdcasimi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    #7
    yes sorry , the DVD I put in is 4.7 gb it has windows 10 on it, but i understand what you are saying, just download 7 or 8.1 then update from there, but Im making sure like if i put 7 or 8.1 as an iso file on the DVD will it recognize it then as a windows installer disc.?
     
  8. garirry macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #8
    Yes, though if you're going to download Windows 7 or 8.1, download it from a reliable source and download the proper file (should weigh around 4.7 GB and be 64-bit). Of course, it's illegal to download the software if you didn't purchase it, but hey, your choice ;). It should recognize it. By the way, does the computer itself access the burned disc or is the Boot Camp Assistant the only one that pretends it's not there?
     
  9. jdcasimi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    #9
    nah the whole computer didn't recognize the disc , it wanted me to open with a program i never used.
     
  10. garirry macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #10
    What computer and program did you use to burn the disc? Also, mind giving me a description of the ISO? Oh, and a screenshot or something would be helpful.
     
  11. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #11
    Hmm, yeah, the computer should still read the DVD and Finder should show its contents. If that's not working then Boot Camp Assistant isn't going to get anywhere.
     
  12. jdcasimi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    #12
    I'm not downloading Windows 8.1 on my PC, using regular windows disc burner to burn the dvd off of . its a 4.7 gb dvd, will this be fine ? then i plan to enter the dvd onto my mac and hopefully bootcamp will recognize it as a installer
    --- Post Merged, Feb 12, 2016 ---
    oh i see, so if i put 8.1 as an iso on dvd and then put it in my mac will it be able to work then
     
  13. garirry macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #13
    Yes, you will need a 4.7 GB DVD for this. Download an ISO on your Mac, right-click the file, and select "burn to DVD" or something similar (I'll assume you're running a fairly modern version of OS X). But I'll need information about what you're doing or else it's quite confusing and difficult to help you.
     
  14. jdcasimi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    #14
    does my mac 2011 , have a dvd writer or will i need to find a burner ?
    --- Post Merged, Feb 12, 2016 ---
    Err , does my macbook prob early 2011 , have a dvd burner or nah
     
  15. garirry macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #15
    Yeah, it does have DVD writing. It should work fine.
     
  16. jdcasimi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    #16
    smh dammit i didn't know man , crap i was using a pc to write the iso on the dvd dammit !
     
  17. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #17
    You want burn image to disk option for what you are doing. This gives you a bootable windows install disk which is what is needed when using the DVD drive with Bootcamp. And looking back I cannot believe no one mentioned that or the idea that all you needed is the .iso on the Mac then Bootcamp will just use that for the install once you select that option if my memory serves me well from when I did it for my nephew. In short DVD you need to see files and directories on it to be usable no single .iso file or use the .iso itself.
     
  18. jdcasimi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    #18
    No **** you kidding me ?
    --- Post Merged, Feb 12, 2016 ---
    Nah my mac needs the installer disc, i can't choose the iso file like the newer macs , i think i know what you are saying but mine doesn't give me that option
    --- Post Merged, Feb 12, 2016 ---
    When i burn the iso on the DVD should i choose 2x , 4x , 8x?
     
  19. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #19
    That is what you need to do as I have said you need to see files/directories on the disk when done burning. I always go with the default fastest never causes any problems but others will tell you go slow at 2x. Best idea open Disk Utility with the .iso on the Mac's disk go to the Images option select burn choose the windows .iso and let it do its thing.
     
  20. jdcasimi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    #20
    Ok when my windows 7 iso is done downloading on my desktop im right click it then click burn disk image to disc , will that work and will the mac recognize it as a windows installer disc
     
  21. Fancuku macrumors 6502a

    Fancuku

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Location:
    PA, USA
    #21
    I am not 100% sure but i think that only works with 2014 and 2015 machines.
     
  22. jdcasimi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    #22
    Yep, my 2011 doesn't give me that option at all.
     
  23. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #23
    Yes the burn disk image to disc option is the one to use it should be seen by the Mac as an installer disc using it.
     
  24. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #24
    If you have access to a PC you should be downloading the Windows ISO onto a PC and then using Microsofts USB/DVD tool to burn the DVD.
    Not every ISO is bootable and if yours isn't, the Mac won't be able to make it bootable -- Microsofts tool will.
    Then move the properly burned DVD to the Mac.
     
  25. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #25
    A bootable .iso is a bootable .iso the tool used to burn it to the disk does not make it bootable that is already present in the image itself it only needs to be burned as image to the disk not as a single file to get it right. Oh and it is not a MS tool they ripped off open source program for it.

    http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2009/12/microsoft-finally-open-sources-windows-7-tool/
     

Share This Page