I know I want a 27" iMac, but don't know which one to get, help?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by utcoug, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. utcoug macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #1
    I know that I want the 27" iMac, but I am not sure which model will meet my needs specifically.

    Background:

    I have owned a Macbook, 20" iMac, an iPad, numerous iPods, and currently own a Macbook Pro 13" base model (2009),

    I am studying Web Application Design and Internet Technology and will be doing some web page design and layout due to that, I do some light video editing through iMovie and do my authoring using iDVD, I listen to a lot of music, I love photography and do some light photo editing, surf the web, compose word, excel, and powerpoint files, etc.

    Is the base model 27" iMac enough to meet my current and future needs, if all I will ever do is listed above?

    I think the specs are something along the lines of a dual core processor (clock 3.06 Ghz), 4GB RAM, 1 TB HD, etc.

    I think that would be sufficient for anything I would ever do. Any thoughts?
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    i5 is only 300$ more and you get almost as twice as fast CPU and a lot faster GPU. For such small difference, there is no reason to get the C2D
     
  3. dqpassat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #3
    Take it from someone who bought the C2D imac...get the i5! Not that the C2D isn't fast enough, but for only a few hundred dollars more you won't have that "i should have..." feeling bothering you every so often.
     
  4. ClassicII macrumors 6502

    ClassicII

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
  5. snowangel macrumors newbie

    snowangel

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Midwest
    #5
    Spend the extra dough

    I am a graphic designer and do a fair amount of web development as well. I just purchased a maxed out 27". Definitely worth the upgrade. In fact have them up the RAM to 8GB right off the bat unless you are techno-savvy and can do it yourself. If so you'll save a bit by buying Crucial or Kingston RAM from CDW. Even with 8GB I've maxed it out before after a few hours into a flash project!
     

Share This Page