I need to get to the bottom of this...spinning beach ball?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Imola Ghost, May 25, 2009.

1. Imola Ghost macrumors 65816

I've had my Macbook 2.4GHz with 4gb of ram 500gb HD last Monday, and I seem to have spinning beach balls quite often. My computer is completely clean with NO software but the ones that come with OSX. I've updated all of the software updates that are available to my laptop.

I get spinning beach balls when I click on a song in iTunes, I get them when I'm going to a previous page in Safari. It's not every time but the times that it has happened that's what was going on. Most of the time it will just sit there and spin and never go away. I don't know what to do [because I'm new to Mac's] and the only thing I been able to do is press and hold the power button to restart the laptop.

What do you think might be going on?

2. jecapaga macrumors 601

jecapaga

Launch Activity Monitor from your Applications>Utilities folder and take a look at what's going on when you're experiencing problems to see what's taking up your business.

3. sushi Moderator emeritus

sushi

Suggest that you boot from your install disk (DVD).

When you get to the point where the menu appears at the top (before you do any installation), you can select Disk Utility. Use Disk Utility to fix the permissions and to repair your HD.

Hopefully this will fix you HD and get rid of the beach ball.

If you still have issues, and there were no issues repairing your HD, then you may have a RAM issue. Did you purchase 3rd party RAM and install it?

If so, take it out and put the original RAM back in and see if that makes a difference.

4. Imola Ghost thread starter macrumors 65816

The problem is; sometimes the ball freezes where its at and its unmovable. Sometimes it spins and I can move the ball around but I can't click on anything.

5. Imola Ghost thread starter macrumors 65816