I want to buy a macbook pro but need some convincing as I'm a macbook newbie

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Shisha, Oct 30, 2010.

1. Shisha macrumors newbie

Hey all,

I've never used a macbook before ever so don't know how good or bad it is and after looking at the price I've noticed how pricey they are compared to PC's and I feel they are under spec'd for the price.

However, after buying an iPhone 4 I realised that although on paper the iPhone 4 seems quite pricey compared to other similar phones, and other phones out their such as N8 seem to have much more features, the iPhone 4 is still miles ahead of these.

What I wanted to know was, is this also the case with Macbook Pros? What is so special about these, is it a case of once you use it you'll want one? (As happened to me with the iPhone).

Lastly, if/when I choose to buy one, I want the latest model so I wanted to know when the next Apple Macbook conference takes place? If it's sometime soon I'll just wait.

Regards

2. snaky69 macrumors 603

The overall experience and ease of use, same as the iPhone. I have an early 2008 MBP, it still runs like a champ, it has nearly never crashed, and the battery still lasts a good 3:30 hours under light usage. No complaints.

As far as the next macbook pro, it's anyone's guess, apple doesn't give release dates to rumor sites. All you'll hear here is speculation and wishful thinking.

3. karohan macrumors 6502

If you can afford to wait, I would wait.

http://guides.macrumors.com/MacBook_Pro_Buyer's_Guide

It's been 200 days since the last update, and its on average 208 days. Now, I wouldn't expect an update later this year and it's probably more realistic to expect an update first quarter of next year but waiting 3-5 months is worth it in my opinion when you're going to have the laptop for 3-4 years.

4. OptyCT macrumors 6502