I want to extend my audio port so I don't keep turning monitor around

Discussion in 'iMac' started by TFL167, Jan 14, 2015.

  1. TFL167 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I don't want to keep turning the monitor around to plug in my headphones.

    I purchased an extender so I could just plug it in and leave it there and when i want to use the headphones I could just plug it in to the extender without turning the monitor.
    But when I plug the extender in the sound/audio does not play through my speakers until I unplug the extender.

    In other words if the extender is the only thing plugged in there is no sound so I would have to unplug it and then plug it back in when I want to use the headphones
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    That's the way the headphone port works. If anything is plugged into it, it diverts the sound from the internal speakers to whatever is plugged in. When you unplug, the sound diverts back to the internal speakers, which are unavailable while something is plugged in. It's a hardware switch that accomplishes this.
     
  3. TFL167 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Thanks so it seems that I will have to live with it and continue to fish for the audio port to plug headphones in.

    Ah well such is life LOL
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Ahh, the pain and suffering caused by first world problems, right? :D
     
  5. TFL167 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    You know then .... :D
     
  6. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #6
    You can go into System Preferences > Sound and then go into Output. When you're using the extender, without anything set, "Use audio port for" to "Sound Input" and when you're using headphone, to "Sound Output".

    Might be able to make it a one button thing with AppleScript.
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    Where is that setting? No such setting appears on Mavericks.
     
  8. monokakata macrumors 68000

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #8
    Although it would involve spending money, you could consider getting a USB DAC that has a headphone jack.

    Of course the money doesn't stop bleeding there, because you'd need external speakers too. Directing audio to the DAC means disabling the internal speakers (I'm assuming that you're talking about the 5k iMac in your signature).

    I was using an Audioengine D1 DAC with Audioengine A2+ speakers, and the combo put a headphone jack right on my desk. But . . . I couldn't get my 5k iMac to reliably recognize the D1, although the iMac is happy with the USB connection to the A2+ units. (I already had the D1 from a previous life and was using it precisely to have a jack where I wanted it.)

    A DAC + speakers would solve your problem. And hurt your bank balance.
     
  9. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #9
    If you have the volume shown in the menu bar you can Option+Click the speaker and choose the audio output you want to use.
    If you have anything plugged into the headphone jack another option for 'Headphones' will show up under Output Device:
     

    Attached Files:

  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    That won't work. With anything plugged into the headphone/speaker port, that dropdown list shows "Headphones" instead of "Internal Speakers". It won't show both at the same time, giving you a choice between them.
     
  11. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #11
    Ahhh, that's right. The headphones cancel out the internal speakers completely and won't even give then option to choose them. You'd need USB headphones to do the Option+Click between the two.
     
  12. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #12
    I am pretty sure this isn't new to Yosemite. I am positive that I was messing with this in Leopard.

    Screen Shot 2015-01-14 at 11.23.31 AM.png
     
  13. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
    Interesting. It's not here in Mavericks:
    Screen Shot 2015-01-14 at 11.30.33 AM.PNG
     
  14. TFL167 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    not shown in mine either it shows that same as GGJstudios
     
  15. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #15
    Hmm, found a screenshot here:

    [​IMG]
     
  16. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #16
    After some digging, it appears the difference lies in the audio port differences between your MBP model and the iMac and MBP the OP and I are using.

    OS X Yosemite: If you can’t hear sound from your speakers
    The OP's iMac:
    Screen Shot 2015-01-14 at 11.58.46 AM.PNG
    My MBP:
    Screen Shot 2015-01-14 at 11.58.33 AM.PNG
    Your MBP (processor may be different):
    Screen Shot 2015-01-14 at 11.59.07 AM.PNG
     
  17. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #17
    Ah, right. I was thinking that it was a hardware thing once you said you didn't see it.
     
  18. JustMartin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    Creative used to do a set of speakers with their own volume control and headphone socket in a separate little unit. I've used them in the past, fastening the control unit to the desk (blu-tac) which was a neat solution if you don't mind external speakers.
     
  19. Baron015 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    #19
    I want to extend my audio port so I don't keep turning monitor around

    USB and DAC with headphones socket. You don't need external speakers.

    Then you can choose either internal speakers, or output to DAC.
     

Share This Page