I want to use my WD HD with my Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by starmagic, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. starmagic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    #1
    It is plugged into the AEBS via USB. It is formatted Mac OS Extended (journaled).
    It is not showing up.
    It does show up if plugged directly into my macbook Pro 13"
    Please advise!
    Thanks
    Star
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Have you configured Disks in AirPort Utility?

    [​IMG]

    Here is a guide.
     
  3. starmagic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    #3
    Well, I did all the guide suggested, and I still can't see the HD showing up in the Airport Utility under disks....
    I feel I must be close, yet missing something!
    thanks for your help.
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    Have you tried making a direct connection via Finder > Go > Connect to Server (CMD+K) and entering the IP address of the HDD that AirPort Utility gives to the HDD?

    That worked for me, but I'm currently at work, so I can't try it.
     
  5. starmagic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    #5
    That failed. But I like your job! Thanks for helping...
     
  6. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    I assume, you connect to the AEBS wirelessly.

    If so, could you try to connect to the attached HDD via wire?

    I mean, connect your Mac to the AEBS with an Ethernet cable and then try to connect to the HDD. Be sure to switch AirPort off in the Menu Bar.


    My work is boring by the way, and it is currently night, short to 4.00AM.
     
  7. starmagic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    #7
    Aye aye ay - well, I can't try this for a while cause I don't have the afore mentioned cable - yes I am connection wireless. It will take a bit of work to use the cable that is currently connecting my AEBS to the other internet thingie - under tables and through wall-holes...

    So back to work unless you have other easier suggestions for now.
    Thanks very much for your help and humor,
    Star
     
  8. starmagic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    #8
    Still the WD HD and the AEBS stage 2

    OK, I didn't follow your instructions, I power cycled my network, and eventually have gotten half way there. See if you have any ideas to add to this:

    I can access the HD (via AEBS) on the DEVICES section of the sidebar. there is the icon for my laptop, and click that and there is the HD and it works. WOW!

    But under network - shared - it is there, but when I click on it, it says it cannot complete because the original cannot be found or something like that. No big deal, but I'd like to connect via at least one other computer in the house, not just this wonderful laptop, that it is not really connected to, anyway!!!

    Confusing, huh? Any ideas?
    Thanks,
    Star
     

Share This Page