I wish, I wish, I wish I'd got the 256GB SSD!

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by ShaneBunting, Oct 20, 2013.

  1. ShaneBunting Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    I really wish I had have had the patience to invest in the 256GB SSD for my MacBook Air when I got it..

    Why? Because I want to run Windows on it. But I can't, because my data takes up more than half of the 120GB available.. And there's just no way I can do it :(

    Anyone reading and considering an Air, I would really suggest that you take the extra time to save and invest in storage.

    This really sucks. Windows can't be run on an External too, which is just plain annoying.. OS X can, but nope, not Windows :/

    Anyone else faced this problem?
     
  2. sarakn macrumors 6502a

    sarakn

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #2
    Great advice for all. I'm waiting to purchase the rMBP and knowing I can not upgrade, I made sure to save for maxed out ram and storage.
     
  3. kingalexthe1st macrumors 6502

    kingalexthe1st

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    #3
    This might seem like a dumb question, but can you move your data to an external hard drive? Movies, music and photos take up the most space, and could you live with having to plug in an external drive to use these things?

    Alex
     
  4. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    Absolutely. Many people do that.
     
  5. sarakn macrumors 6502a

    sarakn

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #5
    Great idea. If OP has a Time Capsule or Airport Extreme, the external drive can be accessible from anywhere in the world - as long as he has an internet connection.

    I'm planning on purchasing one just for this reason because I travel so much and this will eliminate the need to copy files/movies/music to my hard drive before leaving on a long trip.
     
  6. SpoekGTi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    Why not run it in VMware Fusion or parallels, get a nice USB 3.0 ext hdd and put the VM on there, thats how i run my Windows 7,8 and Server 2012 on my Air. ( nonetheless i did invest in the 256GB, but i dont want any MS OS hogging my precious space)
     
  7. iKnowMr.Jobs macrumors regular

    iKnowMr.Jobs

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    #7
    Same...i rushed to buy the 2012 model when they first came out, i should've saved for the extra storage. At least i maxed out the ram and hey, i can always buy an OWC SSD if i really want to replace it. It sucks that my iTunes library isn't all on my Air but i subscribe to iTunes Match and its the next best thing. I'm more likely to buy the next Air next summer before i go off to college than to just upgrade the SSD though...
     
  8. ShaneBunting thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    I'm considering a Time Capsule in December. Paralells/Fusions doesn't seem like a bad idea.. how much GB do those programs occupy?
     
  9. iAppl3Fan macrumors 6502a

    iAppl3Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    #9
    Move your data to a portable hard drive or on some kind of network share so you can access it remotely from your MBA.

    Install Windows in a virtual machine like Parallels or VM Fusion.
     
  10. Flowiee macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    #10
    How does a Time capsule really works? Can you devide it into 1tb backup and 1tb 'external hdd'?

    and can you get to those files from everywhere? I thought only when you are connected to the wifi of the time capsule.

    and howmuch space does the backup needs. So, howmuch days/weeks/months are like 1tb backup?
     
  11. Brian33 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    USA (Virginia)
    #11
    If you don't want to move your OS X data to an external, another idea is to use BootCamp to install a minimal Windows partition (for just the OS and its updates), and use the external drive for all the Windows programs and data.

    This might work well for you if you want your OS X data "on-the-go" with your portable, and mostly use the Windows capability at home where the external drive is.

    For example, I put a 20 GB Windows XP BootCamp installation on my iMac, but I install all Windows programs onto an external partition ("drive D:"). This way my infrequent need for Windows wouldn't use up much of my iMac's main DIY Fusion Drive.

    You could probably get by with even a smaller BootCamp partition -- I originally had just 10 GB and it was working OK, but even with just XP and anti-virus program it nearly filled up with Windows updates. I don't know what the size would be for Windows 7 or 8, but just make sure to leave some room for updates.
     
  12. ShaneBunting thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
  13. yosemit macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    #13
    I fully understand, because I was in the same situation with my first MBA, which had 128GB. :)

    I thought an upgrade from 64GB (the starting point of old MBA) to 128GB would be enough. Of course, it was wrong. Windows (in VM) took too much space.

    My second MBA has 256GB.

     
  14. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #14
    Run windows from an external disk

    http://bleeptobleep.blogspot.co.uk/2013/02/mac-install-windows-7-or-8-on-external.html?m=1

    Works for my iMac.
     
  15. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #15
    Ain't that ridiculous?

    I would love to see, like a journal map of what part of the OS is used day-in, day-out, I'd bet 80% of that code just sits there.

    But on a more practical note, SSD *IS* upgradable, AND there is a thread somewhere in here somebody made a Windows-Boot from a dongle, altought I can't image what the boot-up time is like if u have to switch often.

    Online access is dandy if one always have a fast path the to Internet.
     
  16. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #16
    SD card or small profile USB flash drive as an option?
     
  17. SpoekGTi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #17
    Fusion is about 500 to 750 MB as a program and all the VM's are on a USB 3 ext disk, 100MB/s read/write so thats quick enough.

    On the SD card side, i wouldnt recommend that, yes for a iTunes library but no for running a OS or a VM of it, waaaaaaaaaaaay to slow.
     
  18. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #18
    I agree it's too slow for a VM, but perhaps the OP has other data that could be moved onto SD/USB
     
  19. Y So Jelly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    #19
    Screw the updates. They take up space and introduce more problems.


    Never update crew checking in.
     
  20. PDFierro macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    #20
    256GB is really the sweet spot. Best to really think about your storage needs before ordering!

    I don't see how anyone gets by with 128. Even the really light users.
     
  21. shoppy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Location:
    Hants
    #21
    MY fist haswell 13"MBP brought the 128SSD version sold it a week later as I was having to constantly mage data. Brought the 256SSD version and I now have between 20-40GB of space and no trouble of having to scrimp.
     
  22. Livewings macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #22
    You can run Windows on an external drive.
    Here's the catch it only works on Windows 8 and above.
    You need to do your research on how to configure Windows to Go on your E-HDD.
    Now I'm currently running 8.1 on an external 1TB HDD using UEFI on my 2013 Air 128GB.
     
  23. hindmost macrumors regular

    hindmost

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    #23

    I've been using Macs since the late '80's and and after learning the hard way, I eventually came to the conclusion that the user should always go with MAX RAM and MAX drive storage. Speed? Not that big a factor unless you into heavy stuff.

    Thus, my MacBook Air mid-2013 has the i5 processor, but 8Gb RAM and a 512Gb SDD. I've got about 202Gb of stuff on the SDD right now....but lots and lots of 'breathing room' for whatever comes down the road.
     
  24. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #24
    Me!

    My Air is sitting with 35 GB used.

    Thought about at some point loading Windows on it, but as time goes by, and as I slowly port my windows apps/widget to OSX, I have less and less inclination to do so. Then when I need to look at Windows, once in a full moon now, my old VAIO is still there in the corner.

    My iTunes library sits on a separate server box and I don't care how much space is taking there as it has 4 TB of storage.
     
  25. DollaTwentyFive macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #25

Share This Page