If I get throttle on AT&T, what can I do?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by AznTakumi, Oct 17, 2012.

  1. AznTakumi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #1
    I just wanted to know what I could use when throttle. Is watch videos on netflixs possible at that low speed? How long would I have to wait?
     
  2. solo118 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    #2
    you would be lucky if you can browse web and use apps. Its painfully slow.

    You can get back to full speed when your month cycle is restarted
     
  3. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #3
    spotify/pandora works pretty fast surprisingly. 10 seconds to buffer.
    netflix 1-2 min buffer. video quality is pixelated.

    it sucks... but by all means is usable. .5-.8 kbps... thats what DSL was when they first had it in our small town.
     
  4. AznTakumi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #4
    Sounds alright.. The reason I'm asking is because I won't have Internet in my apartment for a month I the only data I have is this unlimited data plan with AT&T that gets throttle..
     
  5. ROLLTIDE1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #5
    Change your APN for the win and keep on downloading huge amounts of data
     
  6. AznTakumi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    That will not work.
    It's tied up to your line/phone number.
    You can change all the apn's you want. You will still be throttled.
     
  8. ROLLTIDE1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #8

    It worked for me and my speeds returned
     
  9. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #9
    This. It is nowhere near as bad as people make it out to be.
     
  10. the caveman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #10
    There are numerous threads about this on howardforums.com in att section. APN change wont work.
     
  11. sc4rf4c3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    #11
    Change your APN to acds.voicemail, this is the APN for the visual voicemail. You'll get about 2-4 Mbs which is better than throttled speed. I always use this when I'm driving and streaming radio. The good thing with this APN is that it won't trip your data usage because it's for visual voicemail. I've been using this since last year with my S2 Skyrocket and also with my 4S. Hope this works for you.
     
  12. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #12
    arggghhh were were you the last year when i had unlmited att.. and got throttled every month??? ive heard about other apns but none worked.. this makes sense.

    i was lucky and able to trade my att udp to a guy for a vzw udp... so no throttling..


    you mind posting a little more info on the apn settings you use.. I have a few friends/family who would want to use this.
     
  13. sc4rf4c3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    #13
    My 4S was jailbroken so I was able to change the APN. Just rename the APN to acds.voicemail and leave everything else the same. It's the same for any AT&T Android phone. I forgot to mention that there are times when this APN won't work in an LTE area. But most of the times it does work.
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    That's bs.
     
  15. AznTakumi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #15
    I have a iPhone 5 so is there a way to change the apn or is this bs like the commenter above stated? Is changing apn illegal and get me in trouble with apple/ AT&T?
     
  16. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #16
    no not illegal.. you can using http://unlockit.co.nz/ i think? not sure ill edit it if the post is wrong..

    not sure if its BS using the visual voicemail apn.. i have tried all other apns and it doesnt work.
    dont have att anymore so i cant try..


    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1657669
     
  17. Orlandu macrumors 6502

    Orlandu

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    #17
    So far I haven't found a way to put in a custom APN other than what's already listed on unlockit.co.nz

    I submitted the AT&T voicemail APN but that may take a while to appear.
     
  18. AznTakumi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #18
    So what happens when my new billing cycle starts and I'm no longer throttle, will my apn changed back or what? I actually don't even know what apn is..
     
  19. dchao, Oct 17, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2012

    dchao macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #19
    APN is the gateway your cellphone uses to get onto the Internet, or in some cases a private network (like the account activation network)

    There is probably a different APN for all the accounts that are under throttling, but if you change it on the iPhone manually, iOS can probably detect it and change it back.

    If you have an iP5 then you'll have to wait for the JB.
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    You will have to remove the edited apn file and go back to the stock one. It doesnt happen automaticly.
    For a very long time now its well known that the apn doesnt make any difference.
    The throttling is done on AT&T's end and is put there on your line/phone number.
    You can change whatever you want you're not getting any faster speeds untill the billing cycle renews.
     
  21. TableSyrup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #21
    you could switch to sprint unlimited.... Just sayin :D:p;)
     
  22. Hankster macrumors 68020

    Hankster

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #22
    Yes, he could switch to Sprint's unlimited plan but then he would never get service at his apartment because Sprint's network is so small.
     
  23. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #23
    That's like always being throttled.:D
    At least with AT&T you get great speeds before 5GB's of data on an unlimited plan.
     
  24. AznTakumi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #24
    Being throttle doesn't sound too bad from what you guys are saying.. Hoping this month goes by fast, what been the longest any of you been throttle?
     

Share This Page