If i plug out the battery of my ipod nano 1g??

Discussion in 'iPod' started by spastis, Dec 2, 2008.

  1. spastis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #1
    If I plug out the battery of my ipod nano 1g and put the ipod nano in a charger will the screen show anything? I am asking because I either have to buy a new battery or I should throw my ipod away
     
  2. Dino451 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #2
    Get a new battery. I dont think its good to run without a battery.
     
  3. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #3
    Not sure about the nano, but a few iPods I've services have worked just fine without a battery. Of course it needs to be plugged in, but other than that it works like normal.
     
  4. spastis thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #4
    No no...my question was totally different. I tried and managed to repair my ipod.I changed screen and had to resolder the battery wires working just fine for some time and then stopped working. So my question is whether the ipod is destroyed or maybe it's the battery and I should give it a try?
     
  5. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #5
    Then remove the battery and see if it still works plugged in.
    Perhaps you slipped with the solder a bit?
     
  6. spastis thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #6
    That's my question (sorry if I didn't make it clear).I had it removed tried to solder the wires back over and over and nothing works.So i removed the battery and connected the ipod (without a battery to my charger) and nothing shows up in the screen. Does this mean that the ipod is destroyed or is this something that is expected because of the absence of the battery?Should I try and buy a battery or it's no use?
     
  7. 7031 macrumors 6502

    7031

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Well since you earlier stated that you replaced the screen, it sounds like the screen is faulty.
     
  8. spastis thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #8
    The screen works fine because then itunes would have recognized the ipod I had connected.Thanks for your help until now though
     
  9. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #9
    looks like u are gonna have to buy either a new logic board or a whole new iPod
     

Share This Page