If you use the BBC iPlayer for Mac (not iPhone/Pad), can you stream to TV?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by betman, Mar 2, 2014.

  1. betman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    #1
    With or without Apple TV?

    I'd like to watch all shows on my tv (and not on the iphone/ipad), and I see that the BBC does have an iPlayer version for Mac instead. Unfortunately there is not much info about it on their site, so just curious what others' experiences have been with getting downloaded iPlayer content onto the big screen.
     
  2. IscariotJ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    The new Mac app is now a minimal download / player back app. Think the only way of playing back on a TV is via AirPlay Mirroring....
     
  3. betman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    #3
    I've been getting terrible download speeds today from iPlayer. Is this generally the case with them lately or is it just my connection?

    I'm in Singapore right now which has the worst internet of any "developed" nation bar none. Question is - is it definitely my internet provider and not something with iPlayet itself?

    When downloading a HD show (not streaming) to my Mac the speeds I was getting were around 300 KB/s. Yes KB. Not MB. Streaming in HD made no sense as the screen froze a dozen times within the first minute. Any ideas?
     
  4. dimzen macrumors member

    dimzen

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    I just tried downloading a Top Gear, I can download at about 2.25MB/s.
    So it's slow, but not as slow as your download.
     
  5. betman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    #5
    So with such speeds it seems like BBC's service has fallen apart, unable to cope with demand...
     
  6. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #6
    Since Iplayer is not available outside the UK and you are in Singapore. I assume you are using some sort of Proxy to mask your location. Your performance issue could therefore be due to a many different network issues.
     
  7. betman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    #7
    No proxy, providers here automatically do the DNS so that sites like the BBC believe you are in the UK, Netflix (not that I use it) thinks you're in the US, etc. All this is handled by the ISPs here, without the need for VPN or proxy. :)
     

Share This Page