If you're iPhone doesn't show "LTE", call AT&T *Fix Inside*

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by HXGuy, Sep 21, 2012.

  1. HXGuy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #1
    I'm here in Phoenix and both my phone and my wife's weren't showing "LTE", only "4G". Called AT&T, spoke with tech support and they confirmed that the phone was not connecting to the LTE network.

    They unregistered my phone from the LTE service, then reregistered it, had me reset the network settings and about 10 minutes later...LTE was live!

    [​IMG]

    The tech support lady said they have had a lot of calls about this today from new iPhone owners.
     
  2. lorenwade macrumors 68000

    lorenwade

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #2
    In Phoenix as well. Same issue. They also tried to unregister and register to no avail.
     
  3. dasams macrumors member

    dasams

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    #3
    Holy crap on the down and upload speed :eek: Please repost next month so we can see how much the speed has degraded. ;)
     
  4. HXGuy thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #4
    Have another friend who is having the same issue, he hasn't called AT&T yet though.

    For you, where are you located? I'm near 67th Ave and Happy Valley and while the coverage map shows it's an LTE area, it's not working...but down by the 101 and 67th Ave it was working fine. So the unregister/reregister may have worked, your location may not be getting a good LTE signal.
     
  5. lorenwade macrumors 68000

    lorenwade

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #5
    I live like 2 miles from you, haha. I was there earlier today and it wasn't working there nor here (Tempe).

    I'm not getting any data connection at all.
     
  6. formulatwo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #6
    Luckily ATT just installed a new tower by me at Power and Warner (east valley). Turned it on two weeks ago. I now have full bars at my house. Can't wait for FedEx to come so I can test LTE.
     
  7. iapplelove macrumors 68040

    iapplelove

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast USA
    #7
    Mine has been going back and forth all day from LTE to 4g depending on where I am
     
  8. yauzers619 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    #8
    I'm in San Diego And the same thing happened to me with a white 16gb 5. I had to use the "reset all network setting" button and everything worked after two resets. Good luck all.
     
  9. Che Castro macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #9
    wow i only get like 10mb download on LTE at&T
     
  10. HXGuy thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #10
    Ouch. I get ~8 Mbps on 3G.
     
  11. wake6830 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    #11
    Just got 2.45mbps up and 1.97mbps down on LTE in downtown LA.

    Way to go AT&T.
     
  12. jgalan14 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #12
    I got like 2mbps on LTE I just reset it my phone it had the LTE on it tho... Idk is kind of sad cause on tmobile I'm getting 20 mbps I hope is just a hiccup, I'm restoring my icloud backup I'll be postingr some screen shot once my iPhone 5 is back and running , here is my gs3 on tmobile [​IMG]
    Long wait :/
    [​IMG]
     
  13. iphonefan74 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    #13
    You DO realize we have like 5 times more people in LA than they do in Phoenix right?
     
  14. krypt17 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #14
    I confirm that this works. I just called AT&T.. and after a long ass hold.. they did the reregister, reset network settings. waited a few minutes and viola! Thank you to the OP :)
     
  15. chukronos macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Colleyville, TX
    #15
    yeah, but did ATT realize it?
     
  16. michael31986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #16
    the guy on att live chat is saying it will only say 4G ugh wth!
     
  17. krypt17 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #17
    go to att's website and check the LTE coverage and see if its in your area. if it is, then you have to probably do what the OP suggested. It worked for me.
     
  18. michael31986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #18

    only the guy at att can unregister and reregister me though
     
  19. krypt17 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #19
    I know. As for LTE though, i'm noticing it going in and out of 4G and LTE. ATT said the towers may be overloaded at the moment with activations (understandable). So I guess we'll see what happens over the weekend lol
     
  20. jgalan14 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #20
    After resetting the phone and get my iCloud backup done it works better, a little inconsistent tho...

    [​IMG]

    Hate those black boxes :/
     
  21. iphonefan74 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    #21
    I'm getting around 6Mbps down and 2 up on my SIII. Its not At&t
     
  22. benguild macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    #22
    I didn't reset anything and mine started to work. My advice to everyone would be just to give it a few days. It's crazy right now
     

Share This Page