Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

shakespeare

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Apr 29, 2002
Portland, Maine
I'm embarassed I can't figure out how to do this, because I design for a living, and I know I've done this before.

I want to add a stroke to some text that I've created in Illustrator (on a map, for those of you who remember my other thread). I want the stroke to make the text legible against any background, so I want to stroke outside the text, and not cut away from the blackness of the text. That is, I want the picture on the right, not the one on the left. How do I do this? I thought there was a "stroke outside" option, but I can't find it. Anyone?

Attachments

• map.gif
    map.gif
    3.7 KB · Views: 216

Mr. Anderson

Moderator emeritus
Nov 1, 2001
VA
I've always just used two versions of the same text - its a bit of a hack, but it makes the font cleaner by not overlapping into the letters. Just put the regular black text on top and a 2 point stroke (or what ever you like) in white underneath. For skinny fonts this works really well.

If there's a better way - I look forward to seeing it posted here.

D

shakespeare

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Apr 29, 2002
Portland, Maine
Yeah, that's what I did to make the picture you see there, but that's more work than I want to do for all the cities in New England.

I know I've seen a "stroke outside/center/inside" option on an application before, but I can't find it in Illustrator. Does anyone know what I'm remembering?

Mr. Anderson

Moderator emeritus
Nov 1, 2001
VA
Was that on Illustrator or something else? I've never seen that and I just checked to make sure.

Maybe you had a plugin?

One way to make it go fast is to put all the text on a layer, create the regular text for all cities, group it when you're done, copy and paste it to another, lower layer and stroke that.