I'm a cheater...got my 5.1 speakers working with a windows-only USB soundcard :D

Discussion in 'iMac' started by rmwebs, Apr 28, 2007.

  1. rmwebs macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #1
    I've only recently (1 month ago) switched to a Mac (and would never go back to M$).

    I had a very poor soundcard on my computer...its a Phillips Aurilium PSC805 USB card...it had its own (poor) software for managing the speakers, sub, eq, etc and it isn't compatible with the mac...

    I managed to get it working on the iMac though...I simply plugged it into the USB (1.1 hub) and then set it to use the (unsupported) Phillips card in the sound settings.

    The problem I then had was that only the front, center and sub were working...the rear speakers were not. I played around and have a 2 into 1 converter for the standard analogue connectors...plugged the green and black connectors into that, and then into the slot that the green would normaly go...then put the sub into the black socket and tada! 5.1 stereo sound :D

    It's even correctly configured the left & right balance!

    Speakers are Logitech (5 speakers + Sub). I dont know the model of them, but I know they no longer make them.

    I am now 1 very happy Mac'er :D

    :apple: rules
     
  2. YanMasaryk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    #2
    Then that's not actually 5.1 as you haven't provided a discrete channel for each speaker...
     
  3. rmwebs thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #3
    Well it sounds and acts just as good as it did on my computer...I can control the speakers together, individually, etc so I'm happy ;)
     
  4. YanMasaryk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
  5. steveski macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Location:
    easter island
    #6
    There is also a cable you can buy that uses the headphone socket (apparently it doubles as a optical output) to connect to 5.1.

    Just ordered one, Ill tell you if it works when it comes in.:)
     
  6. szsiddiq macrumors 6502

    szsiddiq

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    #7
    as cool as the mod is, it's not really 5.1...
    but none-the-less, keep at it!
     
  7. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #8
    I don't get it. I have a Mac Pro, which has TOSlink input and output. Why can't I just get 5.1 through the TOSlink? Why do I have to get a USB sound card? :confused:

    Even on Apple's website it says:

     
  8. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    Coz you have to plug the TOSLink optical cable into a device (receiver or high end speakers) that have an optical input and a built in digital decoder. If you have 98% of the computer speakers, even high end analog 5.1 sets, you have no way to change the optical digitall 5.1 signal into sound.

    The TOSLink 5.1 output is also only 5.1 for software and content that support it.
     
  9. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #10
    I have an Onkyo 674 ... I have yet to try plugging my Mac Pro into it with the TOSLink cable. I am still waiting on my 35 footer and my 35 foot DVI -> HDMI cable.

    I have some videos with 6 channel DTS audio, do you think I will get surround sound if I play them in VLC?
     
  10. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #11
    Well, that's one nice receiver - THX certified. Can I come over?

    You should be good to go with the TOSLink. You can use DVD Player to pipe the Dolby Digital or DTS signal and so long as you have your receiver set to decode these (unless it autosenses) then you should get whatever is encoded on the DVD (5.1, 6.1 or 7.1) since the cable is essentially a pass-through.

    Alternatively, you can rip to H.264 files with the new handbrake and get Dolby Pro Logic II (5-channel out of R & L stereo). Your LFE won't be there, but I'd bet your receiver will make up for it quite nicely.
     

Share This Page