"I'm a liberal professor, and my liberal students terrify me"

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by FrankieTDouglas, Jun 3, 2015.

1. FrankieTDouglas macrumors 65816

http://www.vox.com/2015/6/3/8706323/college-professor-afraid

2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

Eraserhead

I don't really understand why the liberal students are worse?

3. Happybunny macrumors 68000

IMO this is a aspect of life that has been put under the microscope because of the social media.
    Young people always have thought that the world was against them, and that older people didn’t understand their world and concerns.

But with the advent of the social media everything is made into a hype. Stories get blown out of all proportion. Bad advice is freely given by an uninformed peer group, these stories make the news more nowadays because of the internet.

4. vrDrew macrumors 65816

I am inherently distrustful of any story that has, as its sub-text, the message that "the kids these days are terrible and we are doomed as a result."

Grumpy old men have been telling this story since Socrates and probably before that too. And yet we manage to somehow avoid the apocalypse.

I will say that I don't think social media, at least in the form of Facebook; Twitter; Snapchat; etc. is a particularly good thing. But I think that society in general has a good way of growing out afflictions like that.

Not working in education I did not find the linked article particularly engaging or even interesting. But the idea that kids have gotten somehow much worse since 2009 seems implausible. The evidence as to these college kids political leanings is scant.

And so we fall victim to yet another plague of the internet age, made more sinister by the lights of perverted science - the annoying clickbait article.

5. sim667 macrumors 65816