I'm a Poor College Student - Should I Buy a Current Refurb or Wait For the New Model?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by clortho, Sep 8, 2008.

1. clortho macrumors newbie

Hi there!

I'm a huge Mac fan. Have been for years. I have a 3G and an 80GB Classic, and now am looking for a regular computer to accompany them.

Currently I have an old Dell that's on it's last leg. I want a MacBook, for school work and for leisure. I can get the $100 school discount, then another $100 off for it being a refurb. That's good. I'm buying the laptop completely upfront since I don't qualify for financing, so I want something reasonable but the best bang for my buck.

I know a new model is supposed to be coming out before year's end.. and I plan on purchasing said comp next month. I don't know what to do, though. Do I go this route, or wait for a new one? I'm very anxious.. so any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Danger! Will macrumors regular

Danger! Will

I'm not sure you can combine the student and refurbished discounts together. I'm a poor college student too on the same boat you are and I'm going to wait it out. The latest for the refresh should be November. Save some more money and buy one then. I'm the meantime put Ubuntu on your Dell.

3. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

4. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

Buy it new, but don't open; get the iPod touch fill out the rebate; cash the rebate; return everything for a refund. Then wait til after the new release and buy a computer with a student discount. Enjoy—I'm not endorsing this.

5. clortho thread starter macrumors newbie

That deal ends like next week and I'm not going one until next month when I have the money for one.

6. Scepticalscribe Contributor

Scepticalscribe