Im Buying in the US is it ok to bring to the UK?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by paulcrooks, Dec 11, 2007.

1. paulcrooks macrumors newbie

Hi,

Im heading to new york on sunday. I really want to buy an iMac there but i was wondering if there would be any problems with a) customs and import tax - if there is such problems and b) if there will be any problems with power or voltage issues.

Any advice would be great on this matter as I am kinda new to this thing and will be a virging mac user when i get one.

Thanks in advance

Paul

2. MarlboroLite macrumors 6502a

MarlboroLite

Yes, you will have to pay the UK tax upon reentry...it's not easy avoiding the tax on a desktop computer...it's not like a laptop that you can just say you took with you to the trip. If you still believe you will end up paying less overall even with the duties you'll have to pay in the end, then go ahead and bring it over, but if not then the hassle is not worth it.

As far as voltage/power...there won't be any problems.

3. whatcheernetop? macrumors newbie

I do believe you'll have to separately purchase the software bundle that misspells certain words, i.e. "theatre," "cheque," "alumimium" and so on if you intend to use it in the U.K.

4. spriter macrumors 65816

spriter

Yeah laptops are much easier, just move it from the box into a laptop bag and it's no problem. Flat-packing the box and mailing it back to yourself is good if you really want the packaging. I bought my SR MacBook from HK where the price is crazily favourable compared to UK. £630 vs £830. Spent the £200 'saving' on a certain phone :D

For an iMac, it's almost certain you'll have to declare it unless you can fit the thing inside a suitcase. I've no idea how big iMac boxes are but I'd guess you'll need a rather large suitcase then just wander through the 'Nothing to Declare' aisle and hope for the best (ie: you don't get the call).