Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

siratherock

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 27, 2008
Hi, i'm going to college this fall. It's going to be my first year. I've been using PC all my life but I'm thinking of changing to Mac. I'm a business major and i was wondering that if Mac is right for me.

p.s I'm going to wait for the new macbook, so i'll still have time to decide.

thank you for your time. =)

aosman

macrumors 6502
Jan 19, 2008
I think a MacBook would be right for you. If ever you have to run programs on Windows, you can always run that via boot camp / parallels. Depending on your budget, you might also want to consider a MacBook Pro. All depends on how much you want to spend. If you need help, feel free to PM me (I am an Undergrad as well, minoring in Business Management)

Insulin Junkie

macrumors 65816
May 5, 2008
Mainland Europe
I don't understand most of those 'right for me' threads... do the research and decide for yourself! Play around with them instore! If you have a specific question then specify it, otherwise what can we say. How are we to judge what's right for you if you don't tell us what you expect it to do? Do you need it to run specific programs? What kind of power do you need your computer to have, etc?
Let me know and I'll answer you to the best of my ability.

EricNau

Moderator emeritus
Apr 27, 2005
San Francisco, CA
You should talk with your professors or other school advisor; every school is different.

You could even talk to your school's tech department to see if they offer service for macs (not like we need it ;)) or what percentage of the school population is mac users.

Father Jack

macrumors 68020
Jan 1, 2007
Ireland
I'm sure the MacBook will do everything you will need, and lots more besides.

Re waiting for new models, personally I'm always a little cautious about new models, sometimes they have minor problems that need sorted out.

alphaod