I'm having problems with iCloud Photo Library and I'm looking for help to end the madness!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by gadgetguru72, May 30, 2017.

1. gadgetguru72 macrumors newbie

Ok, so here's the deal ...

I'm brand new to the iCloud Photo Library thing because this is the first time I've had an iPhone with high enough capacity to even consider leaving a sizable number of photos on my device.

Anyway, I now have 2990 photos and videos on my device, and turned on iCloud Photo Library.

As expected, if I go to iCloud.com, it shows I have 2990 photos and videos.

I downloaded iCloud for Windows, and was disappointed to learn that it does not offer a true sync. But, I'll live with it.

If I click the "download" button in iCloud for Windows, it also shows I have 2990 photos and videos, so everything appears to be as it should be.

Here's the problem: once everything is downloaded, I only end up with 2951 photos and videos, so 39 files aren't downloading. I've tried researching the issue and trying to figure it out, but I'm not finding anything at all that might explain why iCloud has 2990 photos and videos, displays that it has that number, but downloads 39 fewer files.

Any ideas? This is driving me mad.

2. eyoungren macrumors P6

eyoungren

Do you have a few photos in albums?

The nature of the Camera roll when you create albums is to create a shortcut inside the album to the original image in the camera roll. I'm thinking that the total image count may reflect that.

However, I am no expert. Once iCloud photos in it's first version started making a mess of my camera roll under iOS 6. I stopped using it altogether.

If you're open to other suggestions…I'd suggest Dropbox or Google Drive. I use Dropbox and never worry about it.

3. theoapo macrumors member

theoapo

I had a similar problem and it had something to do with photos taken with burst mode.
    I think one of your devices, counts the burst photos are seperate while the other one as one!