I'm like a kid in a adult video store when it comes to Mac - what should I get?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by boxed juice, Aug 2, 2009.

1. boxed juice macrumors newbie

I've use PC my entire life.
    But I need a good Mac for professional use.
    I'm a freelance artist and I'm going to be using programs like Photoshop cs4/Illustrator and possibly Maya. I will also be running 'beat making' programs and video editors.
    Basically, a bunch of pro-tools.
    Ill be running a website from here as well.

Any tips, suggestions or direction for a beginner Mac user would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    --Sam, aKa: the juice box

2. AdeFowler macrumors 68020

AdeFowler

Laptop or desktop?

I'd personally go for the best Mac Pro that you can afford, and then load it with RAM.

3. chrono1081 macrumors 604

chrono1081

The MBP in my sig will run all that stuff just fine but I would say go for a mac pro tower for upgradeability, plus if your using sound software its nice to have your sound library on a seperate LARGE drive.

4. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

yoyo5280

Top of the line iMac,
    Macbook Pro
    or if you can afford it, a mac pro.

Then maybe sign up for one to one, and have apple show you the basics. Then you can always come here for questions as they arise! :)

5. GodWhomIsMike macrumors 6502a

The top of the line Mac Pro. What's your budget?

6. gatepc macrumors 6502

gatepc