I'm new to the world of NAS... How's the Synology DS213?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by adamrobertson, Feb 25, 2013.

1. adamrobertson macrumors newbie

First of all, I'm new to the world of NAS, so please pardon any misguided ignorance. I have 4 Apple devices (2 laptops, a desktop, and an iPad, all brand new) that I'd like hooked up to a new, yet to be purchased NAS setup. I'd like the NAS to be used for 2 things: 1) To serve as an active drive for streaming music, viewing pictures, etc. across all computers and 2) To backup said music, pictures, etc. I'm not sold on what backup tool I'll use, so while Time Machine would be nice, I don't mind a third-party backup tool. It seems like I need a basic 2-bay NAS with a pair of 2TB or 4TB drives. Is this a safe assumption? A bit of research turned up the Synology DS213. How would that work for my needs? Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    -Adam

2. deadwalrus macrumors regular

I have had the DS213 for 6 months now. It is awesome. Streaming etc works perfectly. I can stream to the Synology app on my iphone / ipad and airplay it to my Apple TV.

TimeMachine does not work, however. I have narrowed this down to being a bug on Apple's part. Basically, it will work for about a month or two then crap out and you will lose all your old backups. Apple doesn't care -- they say they only support Apple(tm) hardware with Time Machine. If you do enough searching, you will discover that it is due to an extremely poor design decision on Apple's part in the Time Machine software making it extraordinarily unreliable. Oh well.

If you are willing to use CrashPlan or Carbon Copy, it is a great backup solution. The new OS for the DS213 (currently in beta) will also have a backup application to Amazon Glacier, so you can backup your entire diskstation for about .01 cents / gig per month at 99.999999999% reliability. Solid.

3. adamrobertson thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks!