Im on 10.5.8 If I upgrade to MLion will I lose vital stuff?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by oceanzen, Dec 27, 2012.

  1. oceanzen macrumors regular

    oceanzen

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Madrid, España
    #1
    Im on 10.5.8 on an early 2008 8-core Mac Pro

    I just bought a 5th generation iPod, today, and now it won't work with my version of iTunes, and to upgrade to the latest iTunes I have to upgrade OSX

    I have Final Cut pro and Logic Pro on this Mac and Im worried if I jump ahead to 10.8 (from 10.5) I'm worried the software and plugins wont work, then I'll have to pay for them too.

    What do you think?
     
  2. MisterKeeks macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #2
    You will have to check with the developers of the plugins to see if there are compatibility issues/updates for the new OS. In case it interests you, it is possible to run iTunes 11 on Snow Leopard.
     
  3. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #3
    You didn't say what versions of Final Cut and Logic you have, but you'd probably have to get new versions of those.
     
  4. oceanzen thread starter macrumors regular

    oceanzen

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Madrid, España
    #4
    Thanks for your reply

    10.5 is just Leopard so I guess Im not in luck.

    It seems like a giant pain in the ass just to get an ipod working, did not think they would make it so difficult on a Mac

    ----------

    Version 8.0.2 of Logic
    version 6.0.6 of Final Cut


    uuugh
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    You could always try Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard for 19 USD from the Apple Online Store before going further down the iOS road.
     
  6. oceanzen thread starter macrumors regular

    oceanzen

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Madrid, España
    #6
    Great idea.

    I was just looking up how much to upgrade Logic,
    in the US = $199 but in Spain they advertise the whole of Logic Studio €499 that's like $659

    When are Apple going to sort out their new pricing structure?

    Aha luckily the UK are up to date £140 for Logic 9 ($225)
     
  7. benwiggy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #7
    Logic 8 works fine on Mountain Lion.

    However, you will need to check whether your machine will run ML. Older machines do not have the required hardware.

    You need to buy Snow Leopard first, as you can only get Mountain Lion from the online App Store. And the App Store requires 10.6.6!
    Snow Leopard may be enough to get your machine running more current versions of iTunes etc, without compromising your other software.
     
  8. oceanzen thread starter macrumors regular

    oceanzen

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Madrid, España
    #8
    Thanks for all your help

    I'm buying Snow leopard from the local online Apple Store, it'll be with me in 2 or 3 days and then hopefully iTunes will work without upsetting my main programmes.

    :)
     
  9. oceanzen thread starter macrumors regular

    oceanzen

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Madrid, España
    #9
    So Snow Leopard has arrived :)

    I have 4 hard disks.
    One just for OSX and software programmes.

    My question is: Will installing 10.6 delete the programmes from the hard drive or leave them there?

    Thanks and Happy New Year :)
     
  10. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #10
    If you only perform an Upgrade Install and not a Clean Install, yes.

    To create a Clean Install (formerly known as Erase & Install) of Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard (the 29 USD Upgrade DVD is a fully working retail version of Mac OS X and does not need a prior installation of Mac OS X on the Mac), follow one of the following guides:
     
  11. oceanzen thread starter macrumors regular

    oceanzen

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Madrid, España
    #11
    OK Thanks
    I'm a bit nervous, the only option says Install. And the customize button only offers stuff like (do you want the printer drivers installed?)
    Does the upgrade option come after clicking Install?

    Thanks for your input, I really appreciate it
     
  12. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #12
    Yes, as you can see from the guides for the Clean Install, a clean install is more "complicated" and needs your full interaction to delete your stuff.
    Just press INSTALL, or click it, and wait half an hour.

    Do you employ backups?
     
  13. oceanzen thread starter macrumors regular

    oceanzen

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Madrid, España
    #13
    Thanks, I've gone ahead and it's installing. My work is backed up but the software isn't but I have the software in boxes if necessary.

    Thanks again. Great community here :)
     
  14. elizstuart macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    #14
    Oceanzen, how did it work out? I'm considering upgrading from 10.5.8 to 10.6 and am also concerned that my music software won't work anymore without upgrading. Thanks.
     
  15. mentaluproar macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #15
    You will lose stable SMB support and Rosetta. Otherwise, you are fine.
     
  16. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #16
    Rosetta is still in 10.6; it didn't disappear until 10.7. I *think* Samba is still in 10.6 too.
     
  17. mentaluproar macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #17
    sorry, but I was responding to the OP. You can add rosetta back in lion...i think. they killed it either in lion or mountain lion.
     
  18. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #18
    About 4 months too late.:p
     

Share This Page