I'm trying to unlock my iPhone and get it on my Verizon Account

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by timmystets, May 5, 2008.

  1. timmystets macrumors newbie

    timmystets

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    Forgive me if this is an old topic. I tried searching it but I can not understand a lot of technical terms.

    Does anyone know the best way to do this........ If it can be done at all?
     
  2. atluten macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #2
    Unfortunately this will not work as the iPhone runs on GSM, a radio communication technology, and Verizon uses CDMA. Phones that use only GSM are unable to use CDMA and vice versa.
     
  3. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #3
    Sorry, it won't work. At&t and Verizon use totally different and incompatible technologies (GSM vs. CDMA). You cannot use a GSM phone on a CDMA network, period.
     
  4. zmit macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #4
    elaborating....

    one has a sim card... the other does not!
     
  5. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #5
    That's a shame that you bought an iPhone when every report said it won't work on Verizon. You're trying to use a BlueRay-only player to watch a HD-DVD movie (or use a FM-only radio to listen to AM stations); won't work due to incompatible technologies.
     
  6. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #6
    My parents tried to get a Blu-Ray disk to play on their DVD player that was connected to their New HDTV. Needless to say it didn't work :(
     
  7. mylexon20s macrumors regular

    mylexon20s

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Location:
    Coral Springs, FL
    #7
    the iPhone will be able to work with Verizon, as soon as their 700mhz GSM wireless spectrum opens up. Rumored 2009 availability dates
     
  8. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #8
    That's if Apple puts a 700Mhz radio in. It took them a year to get a 850/1900/2100Mhz in there (and that's not rumored to happen until later this year!)
     
  9. tdar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    On the Space Coast
    #9
    and It's not GSM it's LTE...plus the2009 date is for building and testing....Customers might get in in 2010
     

Share This Page