I'm visually impaired, just got my 1st iMac, need help, how to adjust size of webpage

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by blackberrybunny, Oct 14, 2014.

1. blackberrybunny macrumors newbie

blackberrybunny

Hello!

I just received my very first iMac by UPS today. I was wowed by the 27" screen I saw at BestBuy and just knew I HAD to have one. I know how to use the iPad and the iPod Touch very well. But I'm new to the iMac and please, I need help!

I have only had it on for about an hour now. I'm desperate! I have figured out how to launch safari browser, and I figured if I ran into any trouble (hahah) I could just google for answers. But I can't see the screen despite the monitor being the largest 27"!

The yahoo page shows up, but it's very narrow. It's only like 5 inches across and maddening. How in the heck to I make it FIT the entire 27" screen? I mean, this IS what coerced me to spend $2,000 on this new PC.

I went into settings and tried to adjust some things in there, the accessibility options, but it didn't help. My fonts on everything is SO small, I can't see it! I did figure out how to make the cursor large, but that didn't help much since I can't see the pages!

I'm about to cry with frustration! And it's NOT pretty to see a 46 year old woman cry!!

Please, I'm legally blind, I really need some help! I can run circles around Windows platforms, and I thought I'd have no problems with an iMac since I love my ipot Touch and iPad so much. But wow, this is so frustrating!!!!

Thank you!!

2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

With Safari active, press Cmd+, (comma) on your keyboard. Navigate to the Advanced tab in the Preferences window that pop up. Under the 'never use font sizes smaller than', check it and select your desired font size.

That should fix it.

Attached Files:

3. blackberrybunny thread starter macrumors newbie

blackberrybunny