iMac 21,5 2009-2011 LGA 1156 with i7, works good!!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Schprecher, Jan 7, 2018.

  1. Schprecher macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #1
    More news from St. Petersburg, where today was done a good job with imac 21.5 2010.

    As we all know, Apple did not release imac 21.5 2009-2010 with Intel Core i7 processors under 1156. attempts to put this processor ended with nothing,
    hardware support for these processors was not possible.
    So it was conceived in Apple.

    Today I would like to say that this error has been successfully eliminated, and now these little imac can adequately become competitors in the used computer market, because they have become powerful for their money. For not big investments that everyone can afford!

    Oh yeah, I forgot to say that a good AMD Radeon HD 6750M video card at 2048mb (2Gb) is already for this imac and one single sample is already fully assembled and works without any problems!

    No modifications to the imac cooling system are required, everything fits without problems. TDP, still with a margin.
    and yet, if you think that the compatibility problem was in EFI, then I can immediately say that this is not true!
    The problem is hidden on the motherboard itself.
    below is a picture of the imac.

    What do you think about it?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. LightBulbFun, Jan 8, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2018

    LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #2
    thats very neat

    and is very cool if this is true

    but im a bit sceptical because A you have not given any information on the Mod at hand

    and B you block one of the least important parts of your serial except that it is the part that would tell us what type of iMac you have...

    it would very cool if you could go into a bit more detail about it :)
     
  3. Schprecher thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #3
    the serial number can not be shown for one simple problem, the imac owner is afraid for the safety of his imac. I am pleased that at least someone paid attention to such a useful and meaningful contribution to the life of these imacs. Here is another photo

    btw, every mac can help you.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #4

    the part you are still hiding is just the 3 letter/number code that tells us what Mac you have exactly. but in no way is unique to your machine, yet you continue to show the unique digits of your serial number that people could use to do harm.

    and I see that it says iMac11,2 however that can be quite easily altered...

    hence why I am quite sceptical of it

    if you can please do go into the details of the mods you did to enable the Core i7 Lynnfield CPU to work... that would help greatly :) (I am very interested in finding out information about the CPU/GPU/RAM upgrades/hacks available for all Macs :D)
     
  5. Schprecher thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #5
    well, not 3 symbols are hidden, but only two.
    Okay, here's the link to Apple Support, here already in detail on the serial number there is information about the model and technical information on imac

    https://support.apple.com/specs/W810570YDAS

    The motherboard of this imac, here it is: K75F 051-8600 820-2901
    By the way, imac very well began to understand the Xeon processors, under LGA1156 what else makes it special.
     
  6. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 68000

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #6
    It ain't special.

    It is an old iMac with USB2 and slow graphics and not worth the money being spent on it period.
     
  7. d-oost macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #7
    If I could get a penny for everytime someone in the Intel Mac Macrumors forums posted something utterly useless along the lines of "It's old, get a new one", I'd be able to buy Apple in its entirety now.
     
  8. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #8
    serial checks out on my end :) thank you very much

    I have read about Xeons working in the iMac11,3, they reportedly show up as Core i3s (which is what I think modern Macs tell OS X when they dont quite know what CPU they have in them, Look at the Prototype macs with the "Genuine intel 0000" CPUs they all report Core i3 too)

    Im still very interested in hearing about what you had to do to enable the Core i7 Quad Core CPU to work :)
     
  9. Schprecher thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #9
    Xeon in iMac id 11.3 was set by me, this experience was spent with imac 27, 2010. a very long time ago. if you notice that, imac correctly detects its processor. The problem of outputting information in the GUI is hidden in the MacOS itself, under a certain processor, mac os already has short names. and alas for Xeon, in the table ID 11.2 and 11.3 there are no registered names.

    I will tell you how I did it, but first I need a reason to give my experience to people, I spent a lot of time on it, studying not a small amount of information.

    Let's work together to solve the problem of correct registration of Intel Xeon processors, for ID 11.2 and ID 11.3 and I will share my work.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 8, 2018 ---
    hear that

     
  10. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #10
    :D

    the CPU name you see in "About this Mac" and system profiler on intel Macs is set by a specific type of SMBIOS data from the EFI if you tweak this then you can change the reported CPU type in about this mac. I suspect when the iMac or any modern intel Mac has a CPU that it does not know what SMBIOS CPU Type to output for it, it just defaults to the Core i3 one as to not raise any suspicions if there is say a special un-released intel CPU installed (Prototypes for example)

    Hackintosh bootloaders can change this SMBIOS data for you, you can also Manually edit files in OS X to change it but then its a permanent change and is not as authentic (Which i dont like).

    but rest assured even tho OS X says Core i3 its purely cosmetic.

    BTW I am no stranger to older (and sometimes newer) Mac Hardware/software hacking :) heres just a few examples.

    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/making-a-g4-pismo-upgrade-at-home.2019269/

    https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...2-putting-the-power-into-flowerpower.2040272/

    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/mac-os-8-6-findings-and-ramblings.2021922/

    https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...nd-flashing-x850-xt-rom-on-firegl-x3.2016538/
     
  11. Schprecher thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #11
    sysctl machdep.cpu.brand_string - return a real name of the CPU

    SMBIOS?

    or i dont understand something?
    --- Post Merged, Jan 8, 2018 ---
    this Imac 11.3
     

    Attached Files:

  12. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #12
    indeed that command would return the real name

    all that command does is fetch the Brand string name stored in the CPU it self

    "About this Mac" etc does not use this in any way shape or form ("Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5677 @ 3.47GHz" is not very user friendly is it?) Apple likes things to look nice etc, so instead of some relatively ugly/confusing name in about this Mac they just put a simplified form of it, and the way it fetches what name is,

    the Mac will have a specific value that it sets in its EFI/Firmware depending on what CPU it finds installed, then OS X will read that value and chose what CPU Name to display accordingly, see here for some more info https://clover-wiki.zetam.org/Configuration/CPU#Type if you can hack the EFI and change this then it will change what OS X reports

    you could also in theory change the Core i3 entry in OS X to "Quad-Core Intel Xeon" and then it will report that in about this mac, but again its all just cosmetic.
     
  13. Schprecher thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #13
    not constructively.

    we need a person who understands mac os, where and what exactly sets "Strings" for System_Profiler
    exactly how these strings are written.

    for the simplest case, we need a programmer who will make a very high-quality script that will take a variable from sysctl machdep.cpu.brand_string and write in the "strings" system_prifiler

    GOD DAMN, if I could so well master the programming languages long ago would patch to
    it was in my opinion nice to see the real name of the CPU, and the real device names. but for starters it will be enough with sysctl machdep.cpu.brand_string only

    where to get such person? for example, you can pay for good work. who'd do it?
    --- Post Merged, Jan 8, 2018 ---
    Here a work plan for Script.

    when system boot-up,
    script activate and write sysctl machdep.cpu.brand_string value to cpu name in system profiler.
    and after that, user can click on "about this mac"
    and return good name of CPU.
     
  14. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #14
    if you dont mind me asking, do you use a translator? because I genuinely think something is getting lost in translation

    I did explain how the naming scheme works in quite some detail, and there are plenty of guides on the internet how to change the CPU name in about this mac (Hackintosh users do it quite a lot for the same reason you do it, as Hackintoshes often report incorrect CPU names) and I dont think it would be hard at all to make a script that does what you describe ;)

    anyways so how did you go about with the CPU Mod on the iMac11,2? :)

    (BTW I saw your other threads, from what I can tell the iMac10,1 is not compatible with Conroe based CPUs it will post and even boot Windows but OS X will always crash on a machine check error from what I have seen, you need to use Penryn based CPUs in that iMac I am actually looking to get an iMac10,1 to do some CPU experiments with as i have a number of LGA775 CPUs including a Core 2 Extreme X9770 :D)
     
  15. Project Alice macrumors 6502a

    Project Alice

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #15
    The "7" in i7 in this screenshot looks funny to me.. It looks.. slightly larger than the rest of the font? and out of place.

    Sorry to reawaken this thread, someone just linked to it on FB and I was curious.
     
  16. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #16
    I wonder who that could of been... :D

    (comparing the 7 to the "Core i7" of my MBP I dont THINK the OP has photoshopped it but who knows, sadly as you can tell he never did tell us how he bypassed the TDP limit, I do know LGA77x CPUs have specific pins that tell the motherboard what sort of CPU it is, like TDP etc, I wonder if LGA1156 had something similar and if so did he fiddle with those to bypass the TDP check?)
     
  17. Project Alice macrumors 6502a

    Project Alice

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #17
    Thats possible.. You'd think the whole point of the OP posting this would be to share the knowledge on how they allegedly did it.
    There was a thread that I did catch someone cheating (not exactly photoshopping but modifying Tiger's UI to match Leopard's) so I always look closer at images people post.
     

Share This Page

16 January 7, 2018