iMac 21.5 with Acer monitor

Discussion in 'iMac' started by maxbshaw1978, Jun 7, 2013.

  1. maxbshaw1978 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    #1
    I want to extend my desktop to an 2nd monitor. I have the monitor connected to the mac through the VGA with the Thunderbolt adapter. The mac recognizes the monitor (Acer S211HL). I've used the mirror function and every resolution and speed combo but still get no display on the 2nd monitor. The Acer was being used on an HP desktop until I got a new one. Do I need to buy a new monitor specifically for the mac? Any help is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. G-Mo macrumors 6502

    G-Mo

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    #2
    What's the maximum resolution on the Acer monitor?
     
  3. hobbbz macrumors 6502a

    hobbbz

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
  4. maxbshaw1978 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    #4
    Max resolution is 1920 x 1080 .

    ----------

    I've tried both ways and still get nothing from the monitor. I just tried a Dell monitor with the same results. The mac recognizes it, but the dell says there is no input. I'm at a loss.
     
  5. MeatRocket macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Location:
    In the Sandbox
    #5
    Please forgive the simplistic nature of this comment, but did you verify that the 2nd monitor is using the right input method? Since the Dell says no input, maybe it's not set to analog? If you had it set to DVI/HDMI before, then you'd need to set it to analog/VGA input method for use as a 2nd monitor to the iMac. Other than that, I don't know enough about OSX & dual monitor setups to be helpful, sorry.
     
  6. maxbshaw1978 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    #6
    No worries. Yes, it was set to the correct input. Both of these monitors had been being used with a pc. Not sure if that should make a difference.
     

Share This Page