iMac 24" 3.06 is a Intel® Core™2 Extreme Processor?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MacAndy74, May 23, 2009.

  1. MacAndy74 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Far out. Just quoted an iMac 24" 3.06 and noticed that the Core2Duo processor is an 'extreme' model?! Nice.

    So I was wondering, what model is it? Just wanted to read up about it. :cool:
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    X9100, and yea it's an extreme C2D. Fastest mobile dual core processor from Intel.
     
  3. MacAndy74 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    So it's true! :) Do you have a screenshot of System Profiler with that info?
    Just checking because someone argued with me it's not an Extreme at all but a 'E8435' - however Apple clearly states 'Intel® Core™2 Extreme Processor'.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Here's a pic from Intel's site. Click for larger picture.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. MacAndy74 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    :cool: Thank-you for all your help!
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    You're welcome, mate. No problem
     
  7. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #7
    I'd be very happy with that QX9300 in an iMac. :D
     
  8. Dry Rot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Does that mean that this 3.06 GHz chip is faster than the 2.93 GHz than the minor speed difference indicated?

    How is an "Extreme" chip different?
     
  9. JD92 macrumors 6502a

    JD92

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    #9
    The only differences are the higher clock speed and the unlocked multiplier on the Extreme model. The fact that the multiplier is unlocked means that it's easier to overclock the processor, but I'm not sure if that's possible on the iMac even with the Extreme model.
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    Not really because Macs doesn't have BIOS. I can be possible in Windows with some overclocking apps but it's recommended because it can cause overheating problems
     
  11. MacAndy74 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    This is where it's odd.
    I got a Tweet from EveryMac.com and it looks like the processor may not be an Intel C2D Extreme: http://bit.ly/y2LH5

    So now I'm confused. The Apple website seems to indicate an Extreme C2D and enthusiast websites tell me it's an Intel C2D E8435. :confused:
     
  12. Dry Rot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    Thanks
     
  13. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #13
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=535485

    Apparently an overclocked version of the E8435. Searching for that at intel.com comes up with nothing. Googling it doesn't give you anything other than forums posts and the everymac.com link from above.
     
  14. shivermetimbers macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Location:
    McChord, Wash
  15. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #15
    Who wouldn't :D

    When I looked from Windows it saw my processor as 84?? (can't remember) but I think it's wrong. 2.93GHz can be a C2D model just for Apple (overclocked 2.8GHz) and 3.06GHz is just overclocked 2.8GHz and that's why it's multiplier is unlocked.

    Tried that too. I guess everymac has screwed up

    Yes, i guess so.

    Please, correct if I'm talking sh*t
     
  16. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #16
    I took screenshots from everymac.com and they are saying that 3.06GHz E8435 for sure but 2.93GHz is E8335 regarding to benchmarks. I guess all those names are just some kinda "code names" for them so that doesn't matter.

    Of course both can be processors just for Apple, maybe for lower cost and which will draw little higher watts of power.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #17
    The iMac has the E8435 in it. We haven't seen an Extreme processor since the 2.8 GHz X7900.
     
  18. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #18
    I know you're right but why there's absolutely nothing about E8435 in Intel's site? And why Apple advertises 3.06GHz as a extreme version?
     
  19. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #19
    Well, you can't really call it false advertising...if you can't prove Apple wrong.
     
  20. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #20
    They don't though... :confused:
     
  21. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #21
    Found this from Wikipedia, and now I believe. They're iMac specific ones.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #22
    I've figured it out. 'Extreme' is Apple's word for 'Top of the Range'. Although, checking the Apple Store online, it doesn't have any descriptors for the reconfigured options.
     
  23. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #23
    Look at the third post in this thread and its attachment.
     
  24. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #24
    Silly Australians...:D
     
  25. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #25
    Where did the >™< come from? It certainly doesn't appear on that screenshot. And, the proc is mobile, thus 'Duo' should be there too, so thats another indication of a mistake.

    I believe there is already a thread for that topic...
     

Share This Page