iMac for video editing?... since refresh

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Flatz, Jul 27, 2010.

1. Flatz macrumors newbie

So now the refresh has happened, I need to decide what iMac to get.
    I'm a visual artist who has made use of Adobe programs for a long time... but on PC.
    I now want to do some video work that will include things like After Effects and Final Cut.
    I want to get the 27" iMac, but need to know which one is for me.
    Do I want the i3 or the Quad-Core i5?
    Or perhaps the i3 with an upgraded 8GB RAM?

This will be my first Mac... and I appreciate any advice.

2. wordoflife macrumors 604

wordoflife

I think for your case, the RAM will be a more noticeable upgrade, but I would recommend going for the i5 as it will be faster and it will be more future proof - not to mention you can upgrade the RAM later, but not the CPU.

3. Dsync macrumors member

i5 for me =)

I am about to get the i5 Quad core for the exact same reason you are. I have Adobe CS5 Production Edition and need a powerful iMac to run that well. I have been looking at the Quad iMac for quite some time now and now that they have the new ATI graphics cards in them, I will be going with the Quad over the others with upgrades. However, I do plan on upgrading the RAM myself once it comes it. Keep in mind that it is super easy to do since there are 2 OPEN slots, so just pick up 2 sticks of 2GB DDR2 ram for about $100 and pop them right in for 8GB total! It is much better to buy the one with the better CPU and upgrade the RAM yourself. Try going to youtube and searching "27 iMac ram upgrage". There are a ton of video guides there to help you with the upgrade.

Good luck and let us know what you decide =)

4. Flatz thread starter macrumors newbie

^ I didn't realise it was that easy... and cheaper to do the upgrade yourself.

I think you just made up my mind.

5. Yakuza macrumors 6502a

Yakuza

Go for the i5